Bicycling with Butterflies Read-alikes: One Book, One City

Have you been loving Bicycling with Butterflies by Sara Dykman? Perhaps you finished it already and are looking for something similar to read? As someone who admittedly doesn’t read much non-fiction, this book inspired me to consider adding more nature focused non-fiction titles to my ever growing to-read pile.

Below you’ll find some suggested read-alike titles, including some stellar nature and travel writing.

You can request a title through our online catalog here or check out our digital collection offerings through OverDrive!

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Check out this selection of new releases for your enjoyment coming this week!

Bath Haus by P. J. Vernon – When an attempted tryst in a gay bathhouse almost turns deadly, recovering addict Oliver Park finds his carefully rebuilt life unraveling.

Widespread Panic by James Ellroy – In the 1950s, Freddy Otash, the Tattle Tyrant for Confidential magazine who held Hollywood hostage, decides to tell all, in this tale of pervasive paranoia teeming with communist conspiracies, FBI finks, celebrity smut films, and strange bedfellows.

Notorious by Diana Palmer – To escape from family members who are after her inheritance, Texas heiress Gaby Dupont, assuming a new identity, starts working for a powerful Chicago lawyer who comes to her aid when her greedy relatives track her down.

The Damage by Caitlin Wahrer – When a small-town family is pushed to the brink, how far will they go to protect one of their own?

The Maidens by Alex Michaelides – When a member of a secret society known as The Maidens is murdered, a brilliant, but troubled, group therapist finds her obsession with proving the guilt of an untouchable Cambridge University professor spiraling out of control, threatening to destroy her credibility as well as her life.

The Great Mistake by Jonathan Lee – From the acclaimed author of High Dive comes a novel of New York City at the turn of the 20th century, a story of one man’s rise to fame and fortune, and his mysterious murder.

Nowhere Girl: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood by Cheryl Diamond – In this impossible-to-believe true story of self-discovery and triumph, the author, born into a family of outlaws with no proof that she even existed, shares her escape from the only people she had in the world in order to survive.

Beyond by Mercedes Lackey – The long-awaited founding of Valdemar comes to life in this new series from a New York Times best-selling author.

The Godmothers by Camille Aubray – Godmothers to one another’s children, four women, who married into a prosperous Italian family, must come together, despite secrets and betrayals, when their husbands are forced to leave them during WW II, pitting them against notorious gangsters who run the streets of New York City.

The Outlier: The Unfinished Presidency of Jimmy Carter by Kai Bird – An expert biographer and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of American Prometheus, drawing on interviews with members of Carter’s administration as well as recently unclassified documents from his presidential library, reevaluated the complex triumphs and tragedies of Jimmy Carter’s presidential legacy.

~Semanur

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here we have some new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

Rabbits by Terry Miles – Conspiracies abound in this surreal and yet all-too-real technothriller in which a deadly underground alternate reality game might just be altering reality itself, set in the same world as the popular Rabbits podcast.

Animal by Lisa Taddeo – Joan returns to Los Angeles to come to terms with a childhood trauma and forge the power to fight back against the people who hurt her in a new novel by the author of Three Women.

One Two Three by Laurie Frankel – The Mitchell sisters – teenage triplets – find everything changing in their town when a handsome new student enrolls at Bourne Memorial High who happens to be their family’s sworn enemy.

Castle Shade by Laurie King – Queen Marie of Romania, granddaughter to both Queen Victoria and Tsar Alexander II calls on Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes to investigate a series of strange accidents in Castle Bran in the latest addition to the series following Riviera Gold.

Love for Beginners by Jill Shalvis – Starting a new life after waking up from a coma, Emma Harris finds her plans of opening up a doggy day care derailed by her childhood nemesis, but she soon learns that life isn’t what you are given, it’s what you make of it.

Pack Up the Moon by Kristan Higgins – When his wife leaves him letters, one for every month in the year after her death, Joshua is led on a journey of pain, anger and denial that eventually makes room for laughter and new relationships.

The Bullet by Iris Johansen – Eve Duncan puts her happily-ever-after with Joe on hold when his ex-wife shows up, on the run with enough secrets to get them all killed.

The Disappearing Act by Catherine Steadman – A British actress new to Hollywood, Mia Eliot is forced to play the role of a lifetime when a girl she only met once disappears and an imposter shows up in her place, forcing her to question her sanity as the truth goes beyond anything she could have ever imagined.

The President’s Daughter by James Patterson – A one-time Navy SEAL and past president, Matthew Keating, after his daughter is kidnapped by a madman, embarks on a one-man special-ops mission that tests his strengths as a leader, a warrior, and a father.

Tom Clancy Target Acquired by Don Bentley – Taking on a cushy assignment in Israel at the request of Ding Chavez, Jack Ryan Jr. finds himself the target of trained killers after helps a woman and her young son, forcing him to use all his skills to protect the life of the child.

The Stepsisters by Susan Mallery – Brought back together when Cassidy, the little sister they have in common, suddenly needs them both, Daisy and Sage must cast aside their hatred for each other to care for Cassidy and are caught off guard when long-buried secrets lead to forgiveness and a powerful friendship.

The Hidden Palace by Helene Wecker – Pretending to be human, magical beings Chava, a golem, and Ahmad, a jinni, find their lives intertwined as they try to make sense of the world around them and the people whose lives they have unwittingly affected.

~Semanur

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

The Guncle by Steven Rowley – When Patrick, or Gay Uncle Patrick (GUP) for short, takes on the role of primary guardian for his young niece and nephew, he sets “Guncle Rules,” but soon learn that parenting isn’t solved with treats or jokes as his eyes are opened to a new sense of responsibility.

Hidden by Fern Michaels – In the first in a brand-new series from a #1 New York Times best-selling author, brother and sister Cullan and Luna Bodman are drawn into a dangerous mystery through an antique with a complicated past.

Legacy by Nora Roberts – After launching her own line of yoga and workout videos, Adrian Rizzo begins receiving death threats, which lead her back home to Maryland, where she, with the help of her childhood crush, must find the truth when the threats escalate to murder.

Arctic Storm Rising by Dale Brown – Exiled to guard a remote radar post along Alaska’s Arctic Frontier, U.S. Air Force intelligence officer Nicholas Flynn, after an American F-22 collides with a Russian interloper, is ordered to find a missing stealth bomber before the enemy and prevent a potential nuclear holocaust.

The Photographer by Mary Dixie Carter – When Delta Dawn, the photographer she hired for her daughter’s 11th birthday, starts slowly integrating herself into their lives, Amelia Staub soon discovers that she will do anything to permanently become of the picture.

My Remarkable Journey by Katherine Johnson – In this extraordinary memoir, the woman at the heart of the smash New York Times best-seller and Oscar-winning film Hidden Figures shares her personal journey from child prodigy in the Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia to NASA human computer.

Version Zero by David Yoon – From a New York Times best-selling author comes a thriller about how we can save ourselves from the very real perils of a virtual world.

The Living Sea of Waking Dreams by Richard Flanagan – In a wrenching novel of family, climate change and the resilience of the human spirit, Anna, whose aged mother is dying in a world of perennial fire and growing extinctions, escapes into visions of horror and delight through the ever-widening hospital window.

Honeycomb by Joanne Harris – A illustrated set of dark, captivating fairy tales from the best-selling author of The Gospel of Loki.

Checking in: How Getting Real About Depression Saved My Life and Can Save Yours by Michelle Williams – In her first book, an acclaimed musical artist courageously shares the hidden secrets that nearly ended her life; the importance of her faith, family, and friends; and the lessons she learned about prioritizing her mental health.

~Semanur

Review of The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley

The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley book cover and RRPL catalog link

An excellent speculative fiction alternate history set during the Napoleonic Wars featuring a time travelling LGBTQ+ love story. In The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley, Joe Tournier wakes up on a train station platform with no memory of who he is. He’s in London, but everyone is speaking French. When he receives a postcard with his name on it, mailed a hundred years ago, Joe journeys to the lighthouse pictured on the card and is kidnapped through a portal into the past by a mysterious man.

Pulley’s novel is at once both a romantic love story across time and space and a well-researched alternate history that examines how the use of future technology would change events in the past, and how far nations would be willing to go for information from the future. This book is for anyone who has ever wondered what would have happened if the French won at Trafalgar, if the telegraph was invented fifty years earlier, or even what would happen if a sailing ship battled against a steam-powered battleship. The twisty, turny plot may be confusing or hard to follow at first, but the payoff in the end is well-earned. Pulley does not pull her punches, either in the story or the action, but her take on naval ship battles is visceral without being over the top with gore. For anyone who loved Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell or Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series.

Look for the Kingdoms on May 25!

Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC (advance reader copy)!

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

There are tons of new releases that come to our shelves every week. With all the books being unique in their own ways, it is hard to choose between the ones that are suitable for your taste. Here are some books we picked out for you!

The Last Night in London by Karen White – A journalist in 2019 London interviews a World War II-era model to learn the story of the woman’s best friendship with a Royal Air Force pilot’s wife, who was catapulted by the Blitz into a web of intrigue and secrets.

The Son of Mr. Suleman by Eric Jerome Dickey – Targeted and blackmailed by racist colleagues, a Black professor at a Memphis university is called away from a whirlwind romance by the death of his father and a family that has never acknowledged him.

Lover Unveiled by J. R. Ward – A latest entry in the best-selling Black Dagger Brotherhood series continues the story of Sahvage, a powerful MMA fighter whose buried secret threatens to irrevocably change the world of Caldwell.

A Gambling Man by David Baldacci – Aloysius Archer travels to 1950s California to apprentice with a legendary private eye and former FBI agent but immediately finds himself involved in a scandal in the second novel of the series following One Good Deed.

Legacy of War by Wilbur Smith – A sequel to Courtney’s War finds a plot against Saffron and her husband, Gerhard, triggering consequences throughout post-World War II Europe, before Leon finds himself caught between colonialism and rebellion in an independence-seeking Kenya.

Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone – Returning to her gothic childhood home in the wake of her estranged twin’s disappearance, Cat uncovers long-held secrets involving her sister’s left-behind clues and a mysterious treasure hunt.

World Travel: An Irreverent Guide by Anthony Bourdain – A guide to some of the world’s most interesting places, as seen and experienced by writer, television host and relentlessly curious traveler Anthony Bourdain.

Blood and Treasure: Daniel Boone and the Fight for America’s First Frontier by Tom Clavin & Bob Drury – A narrative account of the life of historical frontiersman Daniel Boone goes beyond pop-culture depictions to offer insight into his Revolutionary War heroism and nation-shaping achievements as witnessed by 18th-century colonists and Native Americans.

The Perfect Daughter by D. J. Palmer – When the abandoned girl she adopted years earlier is locked in a decaying psychiatric hospital amid murder allegations, Grace embarks on a desperate search for the origins of her daughter’s multiple-personality disorder. By the author of Delirious.

Crying in H Mart: A Memoir by Michelle Zauner – The Japanese Breakfast indie pop star presents a full-length account of her viral New Yorker essay to share poignant reflections on her experiences of growing up Korean-American, becoming a professional musician and caring for her terminally ill mother.

Girl, 11 by Amy Suiter Clarke – A true-crime podcaster tackles an unsolved serial-killer case from her years as a social worker only to trigger a series of events involving eerily similar murders.

Unfit Heiress, The: The Tragic Life and Scandalous Sterilization of Ann Cooper Hewitt by Audrey Clare Farley – Documents the sobering 1934 court battle between Ann Cooper Hewitt and her socialite mother, citing the eugenics law that permitted the former to be declared unfit for promiscuity and sterilized without her knowledge.

~Semanur

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

These are the books we are adding to our collection this week. Click on the orange text to go to our catalog and place a hold today!

Broken (in the best possible way)  by Jenny Lawson – The award-winning humorist and author of Let’s Pretend This Never Happened shares candid reflections on such topics as her experimental treatment for depression, her escape from three bears and her business ideas for Shark Tank.

Peaces by Helen Oyeyemi – Honeymooning aboard a historic former tea-smuggling train, newlyweds Otto and Xavier enjoy the locomotive’s fantastical accommodations before encountering a secretive fellow passenger, who imparts a surprising message. By the award-winning author of Gingerbread.

Gold Diggers by Sanjena Sathian – A satirical coming-of-age story follows the experiences of an Indian-American teen in the Bush-era Atlanta suburbs, who joins his crush’s plot to use an ancient alchemical potion to meet high parental expectations, triggering devastating consequences.

The Drowning Kind by Jennifer McMahon – Investigating an estranged sibling’s suspicious drowning at their grandmother’s estate, a social worker connects the tragedy to the unsolved case of a housewife who in 1929 allegedly succumbed to the consequences of a wish-granting spring.

The Nine Lives of Rose Napolitano by Donna Freitas – A woman who never wanted to be a mother reconnects with her estranged husband in the wake of unexpected news and is challenged to reevaluate herself in an unanticipated role. A first adult novel by the author of Consent.

Good Company by Cynthia Sweeney – A novel about the enduring bonds of marriage and friendship from the author of the New York Times best-seller The Nest.

Animal Instinct by David Rosenfelt – Investigating the murder of a woman he failed to protect years earlier, K Team private investigator Corey Douglas resolves to bring an abusive boyfriend to justice. By the best-selling author of the Andy Carpenter mysteries.

Miss Julia Happily Ever After by Anne Ross – A highly anticipated final installment in the best-selling series finds an outbreak of wedding fever in Abbotsville upended by a mysterious vandal who challenges a lively Miss Julia to save the day, and her friends’ nuptials.

First Person Singular: Stories by Haruki Murakami – Told in the first person by a classic Murakami narrator, a new collection by the Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award-winning writer explores the boundaries of the mind through subjects ranging from youth and music to baseball and solitude.

Mother May I by Joshilyn Jackson – Blackmailed by a mysterious kidnapper to commit a seemingly harmless act, a once-poor woman who married into wealth triggers a devastating chain of consequences. By the best-selling author of Never Have I Ever.

You Love Me by Caroline Kepnes – Retreating to a cozy island in the Pacific Northwest, Joe Goldberg takes a job at the local library where he becomes obsessed with librarian Mary Kay DiMarco and decides he is ready to make her do the right thing by making room for him in her life.

The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin – Taking a job in a London bookshop just as the Blitz begins, Grace finds comfort in the power of words, storytelling and community as the bookshop becomes one of the only remaining properties to survive the bombings.

~Semanur

Readalikes for The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Song of Achilles catalog link

Thanks entirely to the kids on TikTok, nine years after it was first publised, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller is once again a bestseller! If you’re waiting for your copy, or if you’ve read it and would like something similar, I’ve picked some romantic books that have the same feeling as Achilles: sweeping historical events, thoughtful mythological retellings, or a lush fairy tale tone.

Never heard of Song of Achilles? Here’s the scoop:

Patroclus, an awkward young prince, follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate. Set during the Trojan War.

Click any of the book covers below to be taken to our catalog, where you can request a copy of the book with your library card number and PIN. We’ve also included links to our e-media services Overdrive and Hoopla where available. Find The Song of Achilles on Overdrive here and on Hoopla here (no holds, no waiting!).

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker catalog link

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

After her creator dies en route to America, Chava, a golem from a Polish shtetl, must navigate the streets of 1899 New York City by herself — her only ally is a rabbi unsure whether to destroy her, or allow her to fulfill her destiny as the harbinger of destruction. Ahmad, a jinni from Syria’s deserts has been released from his thousand-year-old glass bottle by a tinsmith but has little intention of remaining a metalworker, despite his uncanny talent for it. Chava and Ahmad meet and discover that they’re soul mates, but a dangerous adversary threatens their future. This vibrant blend of myth, adventure, and romance will enchant fans of stories based on folklore.

The Golem and the Jinni Overdrive link

Uprooted by Naomi Novik catalog link

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

A tale inspired by the “Beauty and the Beast” story follows the experiences of Agnieszka, who becomes the latest girl chosen to serve an immortal wizard who protects their village from the malevolent forces of a nearby forest.

Uprooted Overdrive link



The Bird King by G. Willow Wilson catalog link

The Bird King by G. Willow Wilson

A concubine in the royal court of Granada at the height of the Spanish Inquisition and her mapmaker friend risk their lives to escape when the latter is accused of sorcery.

The Bird King Overdrive link

The Bird King Hoopla link

The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty catalog link

The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty

Nahri, a young con artist, inadvertently summons a mysterious djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, revealing the existence of true magic before the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom falls into her hands.

The City of Brass Overdrive link


The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden catalog link

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift – a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.

The Bear and the Nightingale Overdrive link

All plot summaries courtesy of Novelist.

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here we have some new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week! Click on the red text to go to our catalog and place a hold!

The Bounty by Janet Evanovich & Peter Evanovich – Straitlaced FBI agent Kate O’Hare and international con man Nick Fox reluctantly team up with the fathers who taught them everything they know to prevent a shadowy international organization from claiming a fortune in Nazi gold.

Raft of Stars by Andrew J. Graff – Fleeing into the woods believing that they have accidentally murdered an abusive parent, two young boys, unaware that they have become the focus of a desperate search, navigate dangerous natural threats in their effort to survive.

Eternal by Lisa Scottoline – An aspiring writer, an athlete from a professional cyclist family and a mathematics prodigy find their bond tested by a love triangle and the spread of anti-Semitism and fascism in 1937 Italy. By the Edgar Award-winning author of Someone Knows.

The Consequences of Fear by Jacqueline Winspear – Entreated by a witness nobody believes to investigate a murder, Maisie Dobbs uncovers a conspiracy with devastating implications for Britain’s war effort during the Nazi occupation of Europe. By the award-winning author of The American Agent.

A Question Mark Is Half a Heart by Sofia Lundberg – A successful Manhattan photographer is drawn back to her past as a poverty-stricken child in Paris whose daily realities were shaped by an abusive parent and a friend who still remembers her deepest secrets. A first novel.

Danger in Numbers by Heather Graham – Investigating a ritualistic murder in a small north Florida community, an agent from the State police reluctantly partners with an FBI cult specialist to uncover dark local secrets and the violent activities of a doomsday prep group.

Double Jeopardy by Stuart Woods – Stone Barrington launches an investigation in coastal Maine, where he confronts high-connected and well-funded family enemies hiding in plain sight among the region’s stately houses and private clubs. By the Edgar Award-winning author of Chiefs.

Every Vow You Break by Peter Swanson – A bride’s dream honeymoon with her beloved millionaire groom is upended by the appearance of an obsessive one-night stand who would claim her for himself. By the award-winning author of The Kind Worth Killing.

The Other Emily by Dean Koontz – Haunted by the unsolved disappearance of the love of this life a decade earlier, writer David Thorne visits her suspected killer in prison before meeting a woman who uncannily resembles the person he lost.

The Palm Beach Murders by James Patterson – Three stories from the world’s best-selling author include the tale of a pair of divorcees who begin a strangely intense game of make-believe and a popular advertising exec who notices the people around him are being murdered.

A Million Reasons Why by Jessica Strawser – Suffering from irreversible kidney failure, worrying for her young son and mourning other devastating losses, Caroline considers reaching out to Sela, a vulnerable potential donor who is unaware that she is Caroline’s half-sister.

Red Island House by Andrea Lee – The National Book Award-nominated author of Lost Hearts in Italy presents a tale of love and identity that follows two decades in a marriage between an African-American professor and her wealthy Italian husband in tropical Madagascar.

Ageless: The New Science of Getting Older Without Getting Old by Andrew Steele – A young scientist takes readers into the frontiers of the science of aging, and reveals how close we are to an astonishing extension of our life spans and a vastly improved quality of life in our later years.

Loneliest Polar Bear, The: A True Story of Survival and Peril on the Edge of a Warming World by Kale Williams – An Oregonian science and environmental reporter shares the heartbreaking but hopeful story of abandoned polar bear cub, Nora, discussing the efforts of dedicated zookeepers, veterinarians and conservationists who are working to rescue the species from extinction.

~Semanur

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

These are the books we are adding to our collection this week. Click on the blue text to go to our catalog and place a hold today!

Body of Stars by Laura Maylene Walter – A debut novel by an award-winning short-story writer imagines a dangerously psychic alternate-reality world where the birthmarks, freckles and moles on a woman’s body determine her future role and security.

The Sweet Taste of Muscadines by Pamela Terry – Returning to her Southern hometown in the wake of a tragedy, Lila and her brother uncover details surrounding their domineering mother’s suspicious death, who had been in the care of their third sibling.

Meant to Be by Jude Deveraux – The award-winning author of A Knight in Shining Armor presents a latest historical family saga chronicling the lives and loves of three generations of women in a small Kansas community.

The Lamplighters by Emma Stonex – A debut non-pseudonymous novel of psychological suspense, based on true events, follows the experiences of three wives on a remote Cornish Coast tower when their lighthouse-keeper husbands go mysteriously missing.

Win by Harlan Coben – A high-suspense follow-up to the best-selling The Boy from the Woods is presented from the viewpoint of Myron Bolitar’s fan-favorite sidekick, Windsor Horne Lockwood III. TV tie-in.

Wild Sign by Patricia Briggs – Tapped by the FBI to investigate the disappearance of an entire small community, mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham become dangerously compelled by a mysterious force in the nearby California mountains.

Not Dark Yet by Peter Robinson – Investigating the murder of a property developer in Yorkshire, Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks and his team begin scanning the victim’s security tapes only to discover that a brutal second crime was also captured.

The Energy Paradox: What to Do When Your Get-Up-and-Go Has Got Up and Gone by Steven R. Gundry – The best selling author of The Longevity Paradox expands upon previous discussions about gut, microbiome and mitochondrial health, linking immune malfunctions to the physical and mental symptoms of fatigue while outlining recommendations for bolstering energy and brain stamina.

No Pain, No Gaines: The Good Stuff Doesn’t Come Easy  by Chip Gaines – The star of HGTV’s Fixer Upper shares anecdotal insights into the value of a strong network, explaining how a team of family members, friends and neighbors can become an essential component of personal success.

The Jigsaw Man by Nadine Matheson – Serial Crimes Unit DI Anjelica Henley races to stop a copycat killer and prevent her own death before the ruthless murderer who is being imitated takes matters into his own hands.

Lady Bird Johnson: Hiding in Plain Sight by Julia Sweig – A magisterial portrait of Lady Bird Johnson, and a major reevaluation of the profound yet underappreciated impact the First Lady’s political instincts had on LBJ’s presidency.

Already Toast: Caregiving and Burnout in America by Kate Washington – Despite feeling profoundly alone while providing care to her sick husband, a writer discusses how she discovered she was one of millions of exhausted and stressed unpaid caregivers in America and argues that more should be done to support them.

The Performance by Claire Thomas – An unbending professor on the cusp of retirement, a philanthropist with a traumatic past and a theater usher worried for her girlfriend become unexpected companions during a play that is interrupted by a suddenly out of control wildfire.

~Semanur