New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

There are many exciting new book releases coming and you don’t want to miss it…

Cover image for Pianos and flowers : brief encounters of the romantic kind

Pianos and Flowers: Brief Encounters of the Romantic Kind by Alexander McCall Smith – An anthology of 14 stories by the best-selling author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series imagines the rich lives and loves behind everyday people featured in pictures from the London Sunday Times photograph archives.

Cover image for Before she disappeared : a novel

Before She Disappeared by Lisa Gardner – Investigating the cold-case disappearance of a Haitian teen in a gritty Boston neighborhood, Frankie Elkin navigates resident and police resistance as well as the challenges of her own sobriety before risking her life to uncover the truth.

Cover image for In the garden of spite : a novel of the black widow of La Porte

In the Garden of Spite: A Novel of the Black Widow of La Porte by Camilla Bruce – A novel of feminine rage looks at one of the most prolific female serial killers in American history and the men who drove her to it.

Cover image for Shiver

Shiver by Allie Reynolds – A reunion weekend in the French Alps turns deadly when five friends discover that someone has deliberately stranded them at a remote mountaintop resort during a snowstorm, where ominous things begin to happen.

Cover image for Till murder do us part : true-crime thrillers

Till Murder Do Us Part  by James Patterson – A woman begins to suspect that her husband isn’t actually who he says he is and a teenager has her life upended during the hunt for a missing girl in two true-crime stories from the prolific and best-selling author.

Land: How the Hunger for Ownership Shaped the Modern World by Simon Winchester – The author of The Perfectionists explores the concept of land ownership and how it has shaped history, examining how people fight over, steward and occasionally share land, and what humanity’s proprietary relationship with land means for the future.

Knock Knock by Anders Roslund – The #1 international-bestselling thriller that tells the story of a police inspector and a former criminal informant in a race against time as they attempt to unravel past and present secrets.

The Divines by Ellie Eaton – Piecing together memories from her teen years at an elite English boarding school, Josephine gradually exposes a violent secret behind why the once-prestigious institution abruptly closed in disgrace.

With Her Fist Raised: Dorothy Pitman Hughes and the Transformative Power of Black Community Activism by Laura L. Lovett – Presents the first biography of Dorothy Pitman Hughes, a trailblazing black feminist activist whose work made children, race, and welfare rights central to the women’s movement.

Thyroid Reset Diet, The: Reverse Hypothyroidism and Hashimoto’s Symptoms with a Proven Iodine-Balancing Plan by Alan Christianson – The integrative physician and author of the best-selling The Metabolism Reset Diet outlines a recipe-complemented, counterintuitive plan for reversing the symptoms of thyroid disease through strategic food replacements that regulate iodine intake.

~Semanur

Discover@rrpl

Happy New Year!

I read the following novels over the last few weeks and am sharing a mixture of historical fiction, mystery, adventure, and just plain fun. Consider giving them a try.

The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyons

Lonely 85-year-old Eudora contacts an assisted suicide clinic in Switzerland. She is ready to die on her own terms with dignity. Happily new neighbors move in next door and 10-year-old Rose declares Eudora her new best friend. Soon Rose latches on to elderly neighbor Stanley declaring him to be another new friend of hers. The threesome spend time together and go on a few adventures that give Eudora and widower Stanley a new lease on life as well as some new friends.

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict

This is a novel loosely based on historical fact. When Agatha Christie’s husband wants a divorce, Agatha disappears for several days with no clues. Authorities suspect her husband had something to do with the disappearance. Agatha would not leave her young daughter behind willingly.

Redhead by the Side of the Road by Anne Tyler

Geeky tech expert and building superintendent Micah Mortimer is happy with his life and teacher girlfriend Cassia (Cass) Slade. Until… One day Brink Adams, a college freshman, shows up at his door claiming to be Micah’s son. Micah did have a relationship with the young man’s mother in college, but declares that he is not Brink’s father. Brink stays with Micah for a time. In the meantime, Cass is losing her apartment and Micah does not suggest that she move in with him. Why can Brink stay, but Cass is not invited to move in?

The Artic Fury by Greer Macallister

Based on historical fact, it’s 1853 when Virginia Reeve is hired by Lady Franklin to lead a group of women explorers to the Arctic. Their assignment is to to figure out definitely what happened to Captain Sir John Franklin’s expedition. The conditions endured by the women are dreadful. Unfortunately not everyone returns from the expedition and Virginia is placed on trial for the murder of one of the participants.

~Emma

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here are some of the new books coming to our shelves this week for you to add to your book list!

Better Luck Next Time by Julia Claiborne Johnson – A follow-up to the best-selling Be Frank with Me follows the experiences of a former Yale student whose life at a 1930s Reno divorce ranch is upended by a shy woman and a thrice-divorced pilot.

Martha Stewart’s Very Good Things: Simple Tips and Genius Ideas for an Easier and More Beautiful Life
by Martha Stewart – The premier American lifestyle expert and television personality shares practical tips and clever solutions for making life easier and more delicious such as infusing vinegar with herb blossoms and using lip balm to free a stuck zipper.

The Prophets by Robert Jr. Jones – Two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation find refuge in each other while transforming a quiet shed into a haven for their fellow slaves, before an enslaved preacher declares their bond sinful.

All the Colors of Night by Jayne Anne Krentz – A sequel to The Vanishing finds a young man with rare crystal-energy abilities partnering with a disgraced paranormal artifacts finder to track down a mysterious relic that may be tied to a parent’s sudden coma.

Neighbors by Danielle Steel – Opening her home to neighbors in the aftermath of a devastating earthquake, a reclusive woman inadvertently triggers events that reveal secrets, divide relationships and forge new bonds among strangers. By the best-selling author of All That Glitters.

American Traitor by Brad Taylor – Assisting a witness’s flight from murderous foreign agents, Pike Logan and Jennifer Cahill uncover a plot to trigger a war between China and Taiwan by destabilizing the latter’s government and digital defenses.

The Push by Ashley Audrain – A devoted mother with a painful past gradually realizes that something is very wrong with her daughter, a fear that is complicated by her husband’s dismissive views and the birth of a healthy son.

Twenty by James Grippando – A nightmarish shooting at their daughter’s school finds Jack Swyteck and his law-enforcement officer wife, Andie, investigating a chief suspect’s alleged ties to Al Qaeda amid growing anti-Muslim fervor.

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins – Supplementing her modest income by stealing small valuables from her gated-community clients, a broke dog-walker endeavors to win the heart of a wealthy bachelor before learning his late wife’s own rags-to-riches story.

Black Buck by Mateo Askaripour – An unambitious college graduate accepts a job at Sumwun, the hottest NYC startup, and reimagines himself as “Buck” a ruthless salesman and begins to hatch a plan to help young people of color infiltrate America’s sales force.

Bone Canyon by Lee Goldberg – A sequel to Lost Hills finds Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department homicide detective Eve Ronin investigating the cold-case disappearance and death of a woman whose remains are found in the aftermath of a Santa Monica Mountains fire.

~Semanur~

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

Hush-Hush by Stuart Woods – New York City cop turned Manhattan law firm rainmaker, Stone Barrington, lands in hot water in a highly anticipated latest installment in the best-selling series by the Edgar Award-winning author of Chiefs .

Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd – Sentenced to life in prison for a murder she did not commit, 18-year-old Evelyn escapes and works under an alias at a wilderness camp, where her chance at revenge is complicated by a former employer’s mysterious connections.

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict – Claiming amnesia after going missing for more than a week in late 1926, up-and-coming mystery author Agatha Christie pens a chilling story that brashly implicates her war-hero husband. By the author of The Other Einstein.

Under the Alaskan Ice by Karen Harper – A sequel to Deep in the Alaskan Woods finds a young widow assisting a pilot in the wake of a bush plane crash, before an unknown adversary begins sabotaging the pilot’s investigation in the Alaskan wilderness.

The Wrong Family by Tarryn Fisher – An off-kilter narrator witnesses the slow unraveling of a couple’s strained marriage that erupts in unexpected ways, in a chilling tale of domestic suspense by the best-selling author of The Wives 

Pretty Little Wife by Darby Kane – Darby Kane thrills with this twisty domestic suspense novel that asks one central question: shouldn’t a dead husband stay dead?

The Case for Keto: Rethinking Weight Control and the Science and Practice of Low-carb/High-Fat Eating by Gary Taubes – The best-selling author of Why We Get Fat and The Case Against Sugar reveals why the established rules about eating healthy might be the wrong approach to weight loss for millions of people, and how low-carbohydrate, high-fat/ketogenic diets can help so many of us achieve and maintain a healthy weight for life.

The Dark Archive by Genevieve Cogman – A professional spy for a mysterious Library which harvests fiction from different realities, Irene faces a series of assassination attempts that threaten to destroy her and everything she has worked for.

Watch Her by Edwin Hill – Investigating a suspicious burglary and the disappearances of Prescott University alumni, Harvard librarian Hester Thursby and Detective Angela White uncover financial transgressions, rumors of infidelity and a decades-old tragedy. By the author of Little Comfort.

Olive Bright, Pigeoneer by Stephanie Graves – Tending her veterinarian father’s Hertfordshire racing pigeons while waiting for her best friend to return from World War II, Olive is recruited into the Baker Street covert branch of British Intelligence before investigating the murder of a local busybody.

~Semanur~

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

In Case You Get Hit By a Bus: A Plan to Organize Your Life Now For When You’re Not Around Later by Abby Schneiderman/ Adam Seifer/ Gene Newman – A practical guide based on first-person experience with sudden loss shares advice for how to protect loved ones through proactive legal measures, discussing such topics as personal finances, funeral arrangements and legal safeguards.

Growing Under Cover: Techniques for a More Productive, Weather-Resistant, Pest-free Vegetable Garden by Niki Jabbour – Best-selling author Niki Jabbour provides an essential, in-depth guide to creating controlled growing spaces for productive vegetable gardening, using row covers, shade cloth, low tunnels, cold frames, hoop-houses, and more.

Friendshipping: The Art of Finding Friends, Being Friends, and Keeping Friends by Jenn Bane/ Trin Garritano/ Jean Wei – Humorous and sincere, this book of advice, illustrated throughout, presents the tips and tools readers need to make new friends and improve the quality of existing friendships.

Knit Happy With Self-Striping Yarn: Bright, Fun and Colorful Sweaters and Accessories Made Easy by Stephanie Lotven – The knitwear designer and the founder of Tellybean Knits shows knitters and crafters of any level how to incorporate playful whimsy into sweaters, hats, gloves and more through multi-color stripes and shapes.

Plant Partners: Science-Based Companion Planting Strategies for the Vegetable Garden by Jessica Walliser – Reflecting the latest research on how plants influence and communicate with each other, the author offers a research-based guide to companion planting&;a gardening method that uses strategic plant partnerships to improve crop yields and outsmart pests.

1000 Japanese Knitting & Crochet Stitches by Nihon Vogue & Gayle RoehmThis book is a treasure trove of needlecraft patterns and motifs for experienced knitters and crocheters seeking to create and better understand the infinite variety of their craft. This Japanese reference work is beloved by knitters the world over, and the English version will allow even more crafters to enjoy these techniques.

Rick Steves Istanbul: With Ephesus & Cappadocia by Lale Surmen Aran & Tankut Aran – A comprehensive guide to exploring Istanbul, from domed churches and mosques to Turkish baths and whirling dervishes, including top sights and hidden gems, the best places to eat and sleep, detailed neighborhood maps, packing lists and a phrase book.

The Great British Baking Show: Love to Bake by Paul Hollywood / Prue Leith – The Great British Baking Show: Love to Bake Throughout the book, judges’ recipes from Paul and Prue will hone your skills, while lifelong favorites from the 2020 bakers offer insight into the journeys that brought the contestants to the Bake Off tent and the reasons why they – like you – love to bake.

~Semanur~

A Stellar Way to End the Year

In case you didn’t know it, today, December 21, 2020 is the day we mark the beginning of Winter, when we have the least amount of hours of daylight and therefore, when it is also the longest night. But this year is different (enter your ‘you can say that again’ joke here), not only because of the pandemic, but because of an event in tonight’s sky forecast that people are calling the “Great Conjunction” of Jupiter and Saturn, or the “Christmas Star.”

While it looks pretty overcast right now, perhaps you will get lucky enough to witness this rare astronomical event– specifically, the positions of the planets Jupiter and Saturn being aligned in the sky closer than they have in nearly 400 years. If that isn’t jaw-dropping enough for you, it has been nearly 800 years since the alignment of Saturn and Jupiter occurred at night, as it will this year.

Learn more about when to start looking up by reading this article by NASA, because they know more about space stuff than I do.

And, until next time, Happy Winter Solstice. ~Carol

Readalikes for Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline

Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline catalog link

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline was a bestselling phenomenon in 2011 – it was even turned into a feature film directed by Steven Spielberg himself! – and fans have waited nine years for a sequel. The aptly-titled Ready Player Two is the long-awaited follow up to Wade Watts’ adventures in the virtual reality world of OASIS. Wade has won the contest for control of the biggest tech company in the world (think Google or Amazon), but he has to go on a series of 80’s trivia-focused quests to save the world – again! You can find Ready Player Two on Overdrive here.

If you’re still waiting for your copy of Ready Player Two, check out the books below that also scratch that ‘regular person enters a video game’ itch! Click any of the book covers below to be taken to our catalog, where you can request a copy of the book with your library card number and PIN. We’ve also included links to our e-media services Overdrive and Hoopla where available. 

Reamde catalog link

Reamde by Neal Stephenson

When his own high-tech start up turns into a Fortune 500 computer gaming group, Richard Forthrast, the black sheep of an Iowa family who has amassed an illegal fortune, finds the line between fantasy and reality becoming blurred when a virtual war for dominance is triggered.

Reamde Overdrive link

Reamde Hoopla link

Sword Art Online Volume 1 catalog link

Sword Art Online (manga series) by Reki Kawahara

In the year 2022, some six thousand gamers excitedly explore the new Sword Art Online, which manipulates users’ brain waves to create a wholly realistic gaming experience, but soon learn it lacks a log-out button and to escape they must conquer all one hundred floors–or die trying.




The Glare catalog link

The Glare by Margot Harrison

Moving to her father’s home in California after a decade at her mother’s isolated ranch, a teen who has been taught to fear technology reunites with friends and family members before experiencing nightmares about a dark-web video game that poses life-threatening dangers.




88 Names catalog link

88 Names by Matt Ruff

A romantic cyberthriller set in a world of fluid identities follows the experiences of a paid guide to online role-playing games who comes to believe that an anonymous wealthy new client is actually a violent dictator.

88 Names Overdrive link



Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts catalog link

Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts by Kate Racculia

A dying billionaire sends one woman and a cast of dreamers and rivals on a citywide treasure hunt.

Tuesday Mooney Overdrive link

Tuesday Mooney Hoopla link


All plot summaries courtesy of Novelist.

Are you super excited for Ready Player Two? Have you read any of these readalikes? Let us know in the comments!

Reconnect@RRPL

Murder in an English Village

by Jessica Ellicott

It’s 1920 when well-known American adventurer Beryl Helliwell is looking for some peace and quiet. She answers an ad posted by Edwina Davenport in the small English village of Walmsley Parva. Edwina is desperately low on funds and needs to find a roommate. Beryl is the perfect choice. The women knew each other in school decades earlier.

Someone tries to strangle Edwina in her garden. Agnes Rollins, a member of the Women’s Land Army during WWI, disappeared a couple of years ago. The body of Polly Watkins, also a former member of the Women’s Land Army, is found in a field. Are all of these events related? The local authorities are not interested in pursuing any investigations and take the easy way out. However, the likeable self-proclaimed amateur sleuths Beryl and Edwina are up for the challenge.

The first of four entries in the “Beryl and Edwina Mystery” series is a fun read. It reminds me of the “Phryne Mystery” series by Kerry Greenwood.

~Emma

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

The Awakening  by Nora Roberts – An anxious young woman mired in student debt and working a hated job uses hidden funds to visit Ireland, where she uncovers truths about vivid dreams compelling her to embrace her destiny in a fantastical alternate world.

Dark Tides by Philippa Gregory – A sequel to Tidelands finds 17th-century London warehouse owner Alinor reuniting with a man from her past while reaching out to her brother in war-torn New England for proof of her son’s survival.

Miss Benson’s Beetle by Rachel Joyce – A teacher and her unlikely assistant leave post-World War II London to search for a rare insect that may not exist, discovering the transformative power of friendship along the way. By the author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline – A 1980s cultural assessment of the fantastical future of online behavior continues the story that began in the internationally best-selling futuristic novel, Ready Player One, that inspired a blockbuster Steven Spielberg film. Movie tie-in.

War Lord by Bernard Cornwell – A latest entry in the best-selling series behind Netflix’s The Last Kingdom continues the history-based epic story of fan-favorite character Uhtred of Bebbanburg and his adventures in the turbulent early years of England.

Deadly Cross by James Patterson – Investigating the assassination of the vice president’s wife, Detective Alex Cross and FBI Special Agent Ned Mahoney travel to Alabama to uncover clues from the victim’s early life. By the best-selling author of Criss Cross.

The Diplomat’s Wife by Pam Jenoff – Surviving a Nazi concentration camp before her child’s father dies in a plane crash, Marta marries a kind diplomat only to have her fleeting happiness sabotaged by the activities of a communist mole in British intelligence.

How to Raise an Elephant by Alexander McCall Smith – Precious Ramotswe and the rest of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency must come together to raise a small elephant, in this two-ton case that employs Precious’s maternal instincts.

Murder in Season by Jessica Fletcher – Supervising community holiday activities in Cabot Cove, Jessica Fletcher discovers two sets of bones, one recent and one ancient, before a tabloid reporter’s theories lead to a third death and revelations about a long-unsolved community mystery.

Slanted: How the News Media Taught Us to Love Censorship and Hate Journalism  by Sharyl Attkisson – The five-time Emmy Award-winning investigative reporter and best-selling author of Stonewalled draws on insider accounts to detail how partisan bias, corporate interests and popular narratives are compromising journalistic integrity in today’s newsrooms.

Stuff You Should Know: An Incomplete Compendium of Mostly Interesting Things  by Josh Clark/ Chuck Bryant – From the duo behind the massively successful and award-winning podcast Stuff You Should Know comes an unexpected look at things you thought you knew.

Saving Freedom: Truman, the Cold War, and the Fight for Western Civilization  by Joe Scarborough – The host of MSNBC’s Morning Joe examines the 33rd President’s diplomatic and military strategies to support democracy, chronicling the passage of the “Truman Doctrine” policy of containment and its ongoing role in international affairs.

~Semanur~

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

In this week’s special picks there are new exciting adventure, mystery, suspense, and many more genres for you to choose from! Enjoy!

Hot to Trot by M. C. Beaton & R. W. Greene – Jealously investigating an ex’s intended, Agatha Raisin crashes the wedding only to become implicated in the bride’s murder, a situation that immerses Agatha in the cutthroat equestrian world. 

The Short, the Long and the Tall: Short Stories by Jeffrey Archer – Illustrated renderings of 20 top-selected short stories by the award-winning author of the Clifton Chronicles are complemented by a short parable about how war pointlessly puts good people in the crossfire of their leaders’ ambitions.

No Time Like the Future by Michael J. Fox – The award-winning actor shares personal stories and observations about illness and health, aging, the strength of family and friends, and how our perceptions about time affect the way we approach mortality.

The Orchard by David Hopen – Reinventing himself upon moving to a glitzy Miami suburb, a student at an Orthodox Jewish academy is welcomed into a circle of popular students whose faith is unconventionally tested by their charismatic rabbi.

Rhythm of War by Brandon Sanderson – Technological discoveries and an edict-violating arms race enmesh Dalinar Kholin and his knights in a conflict that reveals secrets about the original source of Radiant strength. By the Hugo Award-winning author of Oathbringer.

All That Glitters by Danielle Steel – When her life of privilege is upended by a terrorist attack that ends her parents’ lives, a college senior struggles to rebuild on her own terms, learning uplifting and heartbreaking life lessons throughout a series of relationships and opportunities.

Daylight by David Baldacci – When her search for her sister clashes with one of John Puller’s high-stakes investigations, FBI agent Atlee Pine confronts traumatizing forces in the world of organized crime. By the best-selling author of A Minute to Midnight.

Murder of Innocence by James Patterson – A latest series entry published in partnership with Discovery ID includes “Murder of Innocence,” in which a global effort captures a serial predator; and “A Murderous Affair,” in which a rookie FBI agent is set up by his informant. 

Piece of My Heart by Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke – A high-suspense follow-up to the best-selling You Don’t Own Me finds the nuptials of television producer Laurie Moran and investigative host Alex Buckley nightmarishly upended by the sudden disappearance of Alex’s 7-year-old nephew. 

Tom Clancy Shadow of the Dragon by Marc Cameron – When a high-level mole infiltrates American Intelligence, President Jack Ryan dispatches John Clark and the Campus team to track down a missing scientist who holds critical aerospace and naval technology. By the award-winning author of the Jericho Quinn series.

The Burning God by R. F. Kuang – A trilogy conclusion finds an abandoned Rin returning to her home village, where with the Southern Army and millions of dedicated supporters she prepares for an ultimate battle against the Dragon Republic and other anti-shamanic enemies.

The Killer’s Shadow by John E. Douglas / Mark Olshaker – A legendary FBI criminal profiler and international best-selling author of Mindhunter returns with a book that goes to the heart of extremism and domestic terrorism, examining in-depth his chilling pursuit of, and eventual prison confrontation with Joseph Paul Franklin, a White Nationalist serial killer.

~Semanur