New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

We have some new releases picked out for you to dive in for the following week. There is more romance, humor, thrillers and suspense for you to enjoy!

Fool Me Twice by Jeff Lindsay – A sequel to Just Watch Me finds thief and disguise artist Riley Wolfe continuing his Robin Hood-inspired crusade against the wealthy elite by orchestrating the theft of a highly prized Faberge egg. By the best-selling author of the Dexter series.

The Arctic Fury by Greer Macallister – Secretly hired by an eccentric Lady Franklin to lead a team of women explorers into the Arctic to recover Captain Sir John Franklin’s lost expedition, Virginia Reeve survives a harrowing quest only to find herself on trial for murder.

Eddie’s Boy by Thomas Perry – Surviving an attempt on his life, retired mob hit man Michael Shaeffer reflects on his apprenticeship under an elite killer while pursuing his would-be assassins from Australia to the United States to identify who is trying to eliminate him.

The Lies You Told by Harriet Tyce – From the acclaimed author of Blood Orange, a dark new psychological thriller about the perfect mother, the perfect wife, the perfect family—and the perfect murder. 

Badass Habits: Cultivate the Awareness, Boundaries, and Daily Upgrades You Need to Make Them Stick
by Jen Sincero – The motivational coach and best-selling author of You Are a Badass shares illustrative case studies to outline a step-by-step, 21-day guide for overcoming self-sabotaging behaviors while cultivating habits that support healthy priorities and personal goals.

Perestroika in Paris by Jane Smiley – Coexisting in the lush hidden spaces of Paris until cold weather arrives, an escaped racehorse and her companion, a German shorthaired pointer, forge a bond with a boy living in seclusion with his nonagenarian grandmother in an ivy-covered house.

Happiness Becomes You: A Guide to Changing Your Life for Good by Tina Turner – The iconic performing artist provides spiritual tools and advice for self-empowerment and fulfillment while examining the role of her enduring Buddhist faith in helping her overcome poverty, loss and other personal and professional obstacles.

Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America by Ijeoma Oluo – A history of American white male identity by the best-selling author of So You Want to Talk About Race imagines a merit-based, non-discriminating model while exposing the actual costs of successes defined by racial and sexual dominance.

The Blade Between by Sam J. Miller – Reluctantly visiting his upstate New York hometown when his father falls ill, a restless gay photographer reconnects with two high-school friends who become his allies in a plan to expose the corrupt motives of invasive corporate gentrifies.

My Name Is Anton by Catherine Ryan Hyde – Realizing that a neighbor is trapped in an abusive marriage, a smitten 18-year-old youth, haunted by his brother’s accidental death, offers the woman shelter and a means to escape. By the award-winning author of Pay It Forward. 

~Semanur~

Readalikes for Tana French’s The Searcher

The Searcher by Tana French catalog link

Another bestseller from the queen of psychological suspense, Tana French, which means another long wait on the holds list for her newest book The Searcher. And this one sounds like another knockout! Looking to start a new life in a small Irish village, former Chicago police officer Cal Hooper comes out of retirement to help find a missing kid and uncovers layers of darkness beneath his picturesque retreat. Find The Searcher on Overdrive here.

Look below to find some similar books that will scratch that suspense itch for you while you wait. Click any of the book covers below to be taken to our catalog, where you can request a copy of the book with your library card number and PIN. We’ve also included links to our e-media services Overdrive and Hoopla where available. 

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris catalog link

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

The friends of a seemingly perfect socialite couple begin to see cracks in the facade when they realize that the husband and wife are never apart and that there are bars on one of their upstairs windows.

Behind Closed Doors Overdrive link


The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena catalog link

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

When a terrible crime committed on the night of a dinner party casts suspicion on a young couple who seemed to have it all, Detective Rasbach discovers that the panicked duo had been hiding dangerous secrets from each other for years.

The Couple Next Door Overdrive link


 You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks catalog link

You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks

A lonely misfit with a dead-end job quietly envies a circle of popular sisters who hide dangerous vengeful truths beneath a veneer of friendship, glamour and accomplishments.

You Are Not Alone Overdrive link



Case Histories by Kate Atkinson catalog link

Case Histories by Kate Atkinson

Private detective Jackson Brodie finds his own need for resolution sparked by three investigations including those of two sisters who discover a shocking clue to the disappearance of their third sister thirty years earlier, a lawyer whose life is turned upside-down when his daughter joins the firm, and a woman whose past mistakes and demanding family life culminate in a violent escape.

Case Histories Overdrive link

The Suspect by Fiona Barton catalog link

The Suspect by Fiona Barton

Pursuing the story of two British teens who disappeared during a Bangkok hostel fire, journalist Kate Waters struggles to remain objective when her estranged son is declared a main suspect.

The Suspect Overdrive link



All plot summaries courtesy of Novelist.

Have you tried any of these authors? Do you have someone else you’d suggest as a readalike for Tana French? Let us know!

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

The Awakening  by Nora Roberts – An anxious young woman mired in student debt and working a hated job uses hidden funds to visit Ireland, where she uncovers truths about vivid dreams compelling her to embrace her destiny in a fantastical alternate world.

Dark Tides by Philippa Gregory – A sequel to Tidelands finds 17th-century London warehouse owner Alinor reuniting with a man from her past while reaching out to her brother in war-torn New England for proof of her son’s survival.

Miss Benson’s Beetle by Rachel Joyce – A teacher and her unlikely assistant leave post-World War II London to search for a rare insect that may not exist, discovering the transformative power of friendship along the way. By the author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline – A 1980s cultural assessment of the fantastical future of online behavior continues the story that began in the internationally best-selling futuristic novel, Ready Player One, that inspired a blockbuster Steven Spielberg film. Movie tie-in.

War Lord by Bernard Cornwell – A latest entry in the best-selling series behind Netflix’s The Last Kingdom continues the history-based epic story of fan-favorite character Uhtred of Bebbanburg and his adventures in the turbulent early years of England.

Deadly Cross by James Patterson – Investigating the assassination of the vice president’s wife, Detective Alex Cross and FBI Special Agent Ned Mahoney travel to Alabama to uncover clues from the victim’s early life. By the best-selling author of Criss Cross.

The Diplomat’s Wife by Pam Jenoff – Surviving a Nazi concentration camp before her child’s father dies in a plane crash, Marta marries a kind diplomat only to have her fleeting happiness sabotaged by the activities of a communist mole in British intelligence.

How to Raise an Elephant by Alexander McCall Smith – Precious Ramotswe and the rest of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency must come together to raise a small elephant, in this two-ton case that employs Precious’s maternal instincts.

Murder in Season by Jessica Fletcher – Supervising community holiday activities in Cabot Cove, Jessica Fletcher discovers two sets of bones, one recent and one ancient, before a tabloid reporter’s theories lead to a third death and revelations about a long-unsolved community mystery.

Slanted: How the News Media Taught Us to Love Censorship and Hate Journalism  by Sharyl Attkisson – The five-time Emmy Award-winning investigative reporter and best-selling author of Stonewalled draws on insider accounts to detail how partisan bias, corporate interests and popular narratives are compromising journalistic integrity in today’s newsrooms.

Stuff You Should Know: An Incomplete Compendium of Mostly Interesting Things  by Josh Clark/ Chuck Bryant – From the duo behind the massively successful and award-winning podcast Stuff You Should Know comes an unexpected look at things you thought you knew.

Saving Freedom: Truman, the Cold War, and the Fight for Western Civilization  by Joe Scarborough – The host of MSNBC’s Morning Joe examines the 33rd President’s diplomatic and military strategies to support democracy, chronicling the passage of the “Truman Doctrine” policy of containment and its ongoing role in international affairs.

~Semanur~

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

In this week’s special picks there are new exciting adventure, mystery, suspense, and many more genres for you to choose from! Enjoy!

Hot to Trot by M. C. Beaton & R. W. Greene – Jealously investigating an ex’s intended, Agatha Raisin crashes the wedding only to become implicated in the bride’s murder, a situation that immerses Agatha in the cutthroat equestrian world. 

The Short, the Long and the Tall: Short Stories by Jeffrey Archer – Illustrated renderings of 20 top-selected short stories by the award-winning author of the Clifton Chronicles are complemented by a short parable about how war pointlessly puts good people in the crossfire of their leaders’ ambitions.

No Time Like the Future by Michael J. Fox – The award-winning actor shares personal stories and observations about illness and health, aging, the strength of family and friends, and how our perceptions about time affect the way we approach mortality.

The Orchard by David Hopen – Reinventing himself upon moving to a glitzy Miami suburb, a student at an Orthodox Jewish academy is welcomed into a circle of popular students whose faith is unconventionally tested by their charismatic rabbi.

Rhythm of War by Brandon Sanderson – Technological discoveries and an edict-violating arms race enmesh Dalinar Kholin and his knights in a conflict that reveals secrets about the original source of Radiant strength. By the Hugo Award-winning author of Oathbringer.

All That Glitters by Danielle Steel – When her life of privilege is upended by a terrorist attack that ends her parents’ lives, a college senior struggles to rebuild on her own terms, learning uplifting and heartbreaking life lessons throughout a series of relationships and opportunities.

Daylight by David Baldacci – When her search for her sister clashes with one of John Puller’s high-stakes investigations, FBI agent Atlee Pine confronts traumatizing forces in the world of organized crime. By the best-selling author of A Minute to Midnight.

Murder of Innocence by James Patterson – A latest series entry published in partnership with Discovery ID includes “Murder of Innocence,” in which a global effort captures a serial predator; and “A Murderous Affair,” in which a rookie FBI agent is set up by his informant. 

Piece of My Heart by Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke – A high-suspense follow-up to the best-selling You Don’t Own Me finds the nuptials of television producer Laurie Moran and investigative host Alex Buckley nightmarishly upended by the sudden disappearance of Alex’s 7-year-old nephew. 

Tom Clancy Shadow of the Dragon by Marc Cameron – When a high-level mole infiltrates American Intelligence, President Jack Ryan dispatches John Clark and the Campus team to track down a missing scientist who holds critical aerospace and naval technology. By the award-winning author of the Jericho Quinn series.

The Burning God by R. F. Kuang – A trilogy conclusion finds an abandoned Rin returning to her home village, where with the Southern Army and millions of dedicated supporters she prepares for an ultimate battle against the Dragon Republic and other anti-shamanic enemies.

The Killer’s Shadow by John E. Douglas / Mark Olshaker – A legendary FBI criminal profiler and international best-selling author of Mindhunter returns with a book that goes to the heart of extremism and domestic terrorism, examining in-depth his chilling pursuit of, and eventual prison confrontation with Joseph Paul Franklin, a White Nationalist serial killer.

~Semanur

What we’re reading now-

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

The Guest List is a psychological mystery/thriller.  The main characters are the bride, the groom, the bridesmaid, the best man, the plus-one and the wedding planner.  The novel takes place on an island off the coast of Ireland.  The story begins on the eve of the wedding, and someone ends up dead.  Many twists and turns throughout the story, and for me, a surprise ending.  The mystery/thriller genre is not my wheelhouse, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  Foley did a great job of describing a breath-taking setting, peppered with a full Irish cast of characters.   The story moved at a quick pace, and I simply could not put the book down. Mary

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami

I just started reading this book on the enthusiastic recommendation of a friend and am very much enjoying this weird and riveting story thus far. Written by one of Japan’s most highly regarded novelists, this book follows Toru Okada as he searches for his wife’s missing cat in a Tokyo suburb. He soon finds himself looking for his wife as well in a strange underworld that lies beneath the surface of Tokyo, full of odd and sometimes menacing people. I have no idea how this will end but look forward to getting there! Nicole

When No One Is Watching by Alyssa Cole

Sydney has lived in the same historically Black neighborhood since she was a little girl, knowing the same neighbors all her life, but gentrification is coming. Over the course of a week, neighbors mysteriously ‘move out,’ the greasy-spoon bodega changes hands to become a place that sells kombucha and wraps, and real estate agents knock on her door more and more aggressively to try to force her to sell her mother’s house. Sydney will discover that garden-variety gentrification isn’t the only thing in play, and that there are darker motives under the changes. This gentrification twist on the traditional thriller is a page-turning, suspenseful read as well as a biting social commentary. Shannon

 The Last Great Road Bum by Hector Tobar

This novel is a fascinating amalgam of fiction and non-fiction featuring a real person, Joe Sanderson. Sanderson, raised in the traditional Midwest of the 1950s and expected to go to college and marry, instead became a globe-trotter, searching out locations where wars raged, so that he could experience a life of adventure and the makings of a great novel. Author Tobar acquired Sanderson’s writings and added fictionalized touches to Sanderson’s life, envisioning his childhood and why he made the choices that he did. Though his novel was never published, maybe Sanderson would see in Tobar’s work the novel that he envisioned.  Dori

The Oracle Code by Marieke Nijkamp

I heard about this graphic novel when watching Comic-Con@Home 2020. A bunch of authors had a panel discussion about writing heroine characters in the Batman universe in the YouTube video Batgirls! Nijkamp is a writer who has lived in a wheelchair most of her life, so she brings real experience to the story of Barbara Gordon, Commissioner Gordon’s daughter. It is about teenage Barbara going to a rehabilitation center after being shot and adjusting to her new life in a wheelchair. In comics after The Killing Joke, Barbara, in her wheelchair, is often portrayed as becoming a librarian while secretly working as Oracle, providing intel to Batman. But here she is younger and trying to solve a mystery in her new temporary home where she feels so uncomfortable and has lost her sense of self. I’m enjoying artist Manuel Preitano’s style, including the childlike creepy ghost stories, and metaphors of jumbled puzzle pieces. Byron

Jane in Love by Robin Givney 

You don’t need to be a Janeite to enjoy the story of Jane Austen traveling through time based on making an accidental wish to find her one true love. When Jane finds herself still in Bath, England but modern day, she’s stuck in a world she doesn’t understand without money or people to rely on. How did she get here and will she be stuck forever? If you want to consider the challenges of being a woman in 1803 vs. right now, or make some new fictional friends, this might be the book for you! Stacey

Magic Lessons by Alice Hoffman

I just couldn’t wait to get my hands on the latest by Alice Hoffman and was not disappointed. This novel is a prequel to Hoffman’s popular 1995 novel Practical Magic and is set in 17th-century in England, Salem, Massachusetts, and New York City. It follows the life of Maria Owens, a foundling child who is rescued by Hannah Owens, a kind witch who raises Maria to practice “green magic” and teaches her to only use these powers to help and heal those in need. Unfortunately, the hardships Maria faces in her life allow her lose sight of these rules of magic, and she brings a curse upon her future generations with one impulsive move. This is a book about magic, love, family, injustice, history and best of all, witches, and it makes for a riveting read. Hoffman’s writing has only improved in the last 25 years and for this reader, Magic Lessons was even better than its sequel. Prepare to be spellbound.   Carol

The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop by Fannie Flagg

I just checked out a copy of the new Fannie Flagg book, The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop. It’s the sequel to Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. The reviews are great and I’ve enjoyed reading other books by this author, and I look forward to reading this one. Emma

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

In this week’s special picks there are new exciting romance, mystery, adventure, and many more genres for you to choose from! Enjoy!

The Cold Millions by Jess Walter – Enduring the corruption of their union employment, two young day laborers are respectively drawn to a feminist activist and a vaudeville singer whose experiences reflect an unjust world on the brink of upheaval.

The Noel Letters by Richard Paul Evans – A latest entry in the best-selling series by the award-winning author of The Christmas Box explores themes of faith, love and redemption during an illuminating holiday season.

Inside Story by Martin Amis – An autobiographical novel by the author of Experience draws on his close friendship with the late philosopher Christopher Hitchens and follows their relationships and journalistic endeavors against a backdrop of 20th-century history.

Memorial by Bryan Washington – A Japanese-American chef and a Black daycare teacher begin reevaluating their stale relationship in the wake of a father’s death and the arrival of an acerbic mother-in-law who becomes an unconventional roommate. By the award-winning author of Lot.

Truly, Madly, Deeply by Karen Kingsbury – Dividing his family with his decision to become a police officer, 18-year-old Tommy Baxter falls in love with a girl fighting for her life at the same time he uncovers devastating truths about his late grandfather.

The Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop by Fannie Flagg – Taking a final visit to the ghost town where his mother Ruth’s Whistle Stop Café made its famous fried green tomatoes, Bud Threadgoode discovers new friends and surprises about the community’s women while triggering unexpected changes in his daughters’ lives.

Love Your Life by Sophie Kinsella – Discarding her dating app to enjoy a post-breakup anonymous writers’ retreat in coastal Italy, Ava shares an idyllic love affair with a fellow romantic before their return to London forces them to acknowledge their true identities.

House of Correction by Nicci French – Attempting to solve her own case from the confines of prison, a reclusive murder suspect from an English village uncovers evidence that calls her own sanity into question. By the best-selling authors of the Frieda Klein mysteries.

The Sentinel by Lee Child & Andrew Child – A latest entry in the best-selling series, co-written with the author’s brother, finds Jack Reacher following his lizard-brain instincts on a seemingly uneventful night in Nashville, where a recently fired man nurses an increasingly violent grudge.

Shakeup by Stuart Woods – Looking forward to relaxing with his girlfriend after returning from a dangerous coastal adventure, Stone Barrington finds his plans thwarted by the arrival of a grisly crime on his doorstep, along with some suspicious new clients eager for his help.

Three Women Disappear by James Patterson & Shan Serafin – When three female suspects in the murder of an accountant, who was a master manipulator, go missing, Detective Sean Walsh, who has a personal connection to the case, discovers why the women have to stay hidden from both the law and each other.

The Forgotten Daughter by Joanna Goodman – The triumphant story of two women divided by their past, but united by love. An assassin’s daughter fights for 1992 Quebec’s independence at the side of the man she loves, a separatist-opposing journalist whose Duplessis Orphan sister joins a reparations coalition. By the best-selling author of The Home for Unwanted Girls.

~Semanur

Reconnect@RRPL – What I’m eating while I’m reading

It’s been a good book week in my house. I just devoured The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, the newest novel by V. E. Schwab. This story is about a young French woman in the 18th-Century, who makes a deal with the Devil in order not to marry. Consequently, she can live forever but cannot be remembered by anyone whose life she touches. It’s a little spooky, a lot romantic and has just the right amount of slow-building tension, making it perfect for these chilly, rainy October days.

What else is good for chilly, rainy days? Baking, of course. I like simple recipes like this Beer Bread from Food.com. Even better that it doesn’t require too many ingredients or too much time spent in the kitchen. This bread will be going into my oven in a couple of hours and will make a delicious and hearty snack along with a hot cup of tea later this evening while I tuck into the new Tana French novel, The Searcher. I can’t wait!

-Carol

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

The Gift of the Magpie by Donna Andrews – When the magpie, who has been bringing her bits of tinsel and costume jewelry, arrives with a gift that may be the clue to solving a crime, Meg finds her hopes for a relatively peaceful holiday season dashed.

A Dog’s Perfect Christmas by W. Bruce Cameron – When their family suddenly faces a life-or-death crisis during the holiday season, the Goss’s find themselves brought back together by the arrival of a little lost puppy who changes everything.

The Girl in the Mirror by Rose Carlyle – Taking her successful identical twin’s place in the aftermath of a suspicious accident, cynical Iris endeavors to conceive a child with her twin’s unknowing husband to secure a multi-million-dollar inheritance.

Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth – A highly anticipated adult debut from the award-winning author of The Miseducation of Cameron Post follows the release of a best-selling book about an early 20th-century New England boarding school where gender-diverse students died under suspicious circumstances.

Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey – From the Academy Award-winning actor comes an unconventional memoir filled with raucous stories, outlaw wisdom, and lessons learned the hard way about living with greater satisfaction.

The Silence by Don DeLillo – Five people gathered together in a Manhattan apartment in 2022 react to a mysterious, catastrophic event that severs all of modern life’s digital connections in this new novel from the National Book Award-winning author of White Noise.

The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X by Les Payne & Tamara Payne – A portrait of the iconic civil rights leader draws on hundreds of hours of interviews with surviving family members, intelligence officers and political leaders to offer new insights into Malcolm X’s Depression-era youth, religious conversion and 1965 assassination.

Battle of Brothers: William and Harry by Robert Lacey – The historical consultant to the hit series, The Crown, draws on official sources in a royal portrait that examines the experiences and conflicts that have shaped the bond between the future king of England and his brother.

Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan – Sent by his privileged family to learn how the less fortunate earn their living, a duke’s son takes a job at a new Murian hotel while falling unexpectedly in love with a hardworking young waitress.

In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren – One Christmas wish, two brothers, and a lifetime of hope are on the line for hapless Maelyn Jones.

Death and the Maiden by Ariana Franklin – A long-anticipated series conclusion finds a young healer dispatched to the Cambridge-shire village of Ely, where her courtship with a young aristocrat is complicated by her investigation into the disappearances of several local girls.

Cary Grant: A Brilliant Disguise by Scott Eyman – The best-selling author of Pieces of My Heart presents a heavily researched portrait of the Hollywood legend that includes coverage of Grant’s early start as a teen acrobat, his complicated relationships and his Golden Era performances.

~Semanur