New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

There are tons of new releases that come to our shelves every week. With all the books being unique in their own ways, it is hard to choose between the ones that are suitable for your taste. Here are some books we picked out for you!

The Book of Two Ways by Jodi Picoult – Experiencing memories of a man other than her husband while surviving a plane crash, and end-of-life doula on the brink of a fateful decision envisions two disparate paths that find her staying with her family or reconnecting with the past.

Next to Last Stand by Craig Johnson – Walt Longmire visits the 7th Cavalry Headquarters of 1946 Fort Bliss, Texas to investigate links between a fatal heart attack, a fire that has destroyed a high-profile work of American art and a shoebox containing a million dollars.

The Coast-to-Coast Murders by James Patterson & J. D. Barker – A baffling string of murders throughout the country leads Detective Garrett Dobbs and FBI Agent Jessica Gimble to the family of two Ivy League intellectuals who raised their adopted children in a traumatizing experimental environment.

To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan – The disappearance of her fawningly dependent husband catapults a best-selling mystery writer into dark memories about a brother who went missing under suspicious circumstances 30 years earlier. By the best-selling author of What She Knew.

Funeral for a Friend by Brian Freeman – Jonathan Stride investigates after his best friend confesses on his death bed to covering up a murder that leads to the discovery of a body buried in his yard, in the latest addition to the series following Alter Ego.

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman – Meeting weekly in their retirement village’s Jigsaw Room to exchange theories about unsolved crimes, four savvy septuagenarians propose a daring but unorthodox plan to help a woman rookie cop solve her first big murder case.

Eli’s Promise by Ronald H. Balson – The National Jewish Book Award-winning author of The Girl From Berlin explores the human cost of war and the consequences of survival in the story of a Polish business owner who seeks justice for a wartime betrayal. 

The Last Agent by Robert Dugoni – A spy who was convicted of treason travels to Russia after receiving a tip that the agent who sacrificed her life to save his might still be alive, in the second novel of the series following The Eight Sister.

And Now She’s Gone by Rachel Howzell Hall – When a desperate family implores her to track down a woman who may not want to be found, Grayson Sykes unravels violent secrets that embroil her in an increasingly dangerous game of cat and mouse.

Total Meditation: Practices in Living the Awakened Life by Deepak Chopra – The humanitarian founder of The Chopra Foundation nonprofit and best-selling author of Metahuman reinterprets and clarifies the physical, mental and spiritual benefits of an effective meditation practice while explaining how to use meditation to treat stress and heal suffering.

Standoff: Race, Policing, and a Deadly Assault that Gripped a Nation
by Jamie Thompson – An award-winning journalist documents the July 2016 shooting outside El Centro College in Dallas, offering character portraits of its first responders, negotiator, doctors and victims while examining how the tragedy reflects ongoing challenges in racial injustice and law enforcement.

Daughters of the Wild by Natalka Burian – Unable to remember her life before foster care, a teen who would rescue her newborn from an oppressive matriarch studies the properties of a powerful but addictive plant behind the foster family’s business. A first novel. 

Divided We Fall: America’s Secession Threat and How to Restore Our Nation by David French – The National Review senior writer and co-author of the best-selling Rise of ISIS examines the growing ideological divide in America, drawing on up-to-date research about the nation’s possible separation and what is needed to prevent it.

Overstated: A Coast-to-Coast Roast of the 50 States by Colin Quinn – The comedian star of the one-man Broadway show Red State, Blue State lampoons the idiosyncrasies of the 50 United States, sharing sharp-witted observations about their contradictory interpretations of the Constitution and a representative government. 

~Semanur

Reconnect @RRPL

by Jennifer Steil

The novel begins in Vienna in 1938. Both parents are professional musicians. 10-year-old Orlanthe (Orly) Zingel’s mother sings opera, and her father plays viola with the Vienna Philharmonic. When the opportunities for Orly’s parents disappear, the family makes the decision to leave Nazi-occupied Austria and escape anywhere Jews are still welcome. Eventually the three obtain visas and are allowed to emigrate to La Paz, Bolivia. (Orly’s older brother stays behind to work with the French Resistance.) Everything is new and different including the language. Orly is the first to find a friend and tackle Spanish. Slowly Orly’s parents find ways to connect with their new environment.

This is not a happy-ever-after story, but it’s an important history lesson in its depiction of refugees being transported to a brand new life in a brand new place. The story reveals a little known or perhaps forgotten part of Holocaust history. Bolivia accepted over 20,000 Jewish refugees during WWII. After the war, some Nazis escaping Germany also emigrated to Bolivia.

~Emma

What to Read During Hispanic Heritage Month

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Morena-Garcia, a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror, follows the experiences of a courageous socialite in 1950s Mexico who is drawn into the treacherous secrets of an isolated mansion. It is also the subject of the December 17th meeting of our horror book discussion group, Novel Scares. Register now to join us, via Zoom.

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

Here some of the new exciting releases for you to take a look at this week!

Rage by Bob Woodward – The author offers a second book of nonfiction on the Trump presidency. Rage, is an unprecedented and intimate tour the force of new reporting on the Trump presidency facing a global pandemic, economic disaster and racial unrest

Blackout: How Black America Can Make Its Second Escape from the Democrat Plantation by Candace Owens – Political activist and social media star Candace Owens explains all the reasons how the Democratic Party policies hurt, rather than help, the African American community, and why she and many others are turning right.

The Evening and the Morning by Ken Follett – A prequel to the best-selling The Pillars of the Earth follows the experiences of a young boat-builder, a scholarly monk and a Norman noblewoman against a backdrop of the Viking attacks at the end of the 10th century in England.

Total Power by Vince Flynn & Kyle Mills – When an ISIS plot devastates America’s power grid, Mitch Rapp and his CIA team race to find the responsible cyber-terrorists to prevent the nation from succumbing to total collapse. By the best-selling author of Red War.

Troubled Blood by Robert Galbraith – Written pseudonymously by the acclaimed author of the Harry Potter novels, a latest entry in the best-selling series that began with The Cuckoo’s Calling continues the high-stakes adventures of Cormoran Strike and his partner, Robin Ellacott.

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini – A space voyager living her dream of exploring new worlds lands on a distant planet ripe for colonization before her discovery of a mysterious relic transforms her life and threatens the entire human race.

The Killings at Kingfisher Hill by Sophie Hannah – Hired to discretely investigate murder allegations against a wealthy client’s wife, Hercule Poirot swaps seats with a nervous train passenger before a second killing is complicated by a series of impossible confessions.

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke – Living in a labyrinthine house of endless corridors, flooded staircases and thousands of statues, Piranesi assists the dreamlike dwelling’s only other resident throughout a mysterious research project before evidence emerges of an astonishing alternate world.

Chance of a Lifetime by Jude Deveraux & Tara Sheets – A series debut by the distinguished author of For All Time and the award-winning author of Don’t Call Me Cupcake finds a 19th-century thief atoning for misdeeds by convincing the present-day woman he loves to marry another.

Don’t Look for Me by Wendy Walker – The daughter of a woman who allegedly went missing by choice visits the small town where her mother was last seen to investigate unsettling witness accounts. By the author of Emma in the Night.

Murder Thy Neighbor by James Patterson with Andrew Bourelle & Max Dilallo – A bind-up of two true-crime thrillers includes Murder Thy Neighbor, depicting a man’s violent retaliation against a local who would protect property values; and Murder IRL, in which an isolated girl’s social-media war upends the target of her misguided affections.

The Home Edit Life: The No-Guilt Guide to Owning What You Want and Organizing Everything by Clea Shearer & Joanna Teplin – The stars of Home Edit outline holistic, tech-friendly approaches to rendering everyday work more productive and fulfilling through organization, offering customizable, guilt-free recommendations for everything from office spaces and holiday storage to luggage and pet supplies. TV tie-in.

Agent Sonya: Moscow’s Most Daring Wartime Spy by Ben McIntyre – The New York Times best-selling author of The Spy and the Traitor reveals the story of the female spy hidden in plain sight who set the stage for the Cold War—one of the last great intelligence secrets of the 20th century.

Stakes Is High: Life After the American Dream by Mychal Denzel Smith – Exposing the stark contradictions at the heart of American life, the New York Times bestselling author presents this important work in which he holds all of us accountable for looking away from the fissures and casual violence that are ever-present.

~Semanur

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

This week we have a collection of romance, horror, historical fiction, and much more for you to choose from. You can also find topics such as friendship, family life, and animal & nature… Enjoy!

Shadows in Death by J. D. Robb – Spotting an infamous assassin from Dublin among the onlookers at a Washington Square Park murder scene, Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband, Roarke, struggle to protect each other when they discover the killer is targeting them.

One by One by Ruth Ware – When an offsite company retreat is upended by an avalanche that strands them in a remote mountain chalet, eight coworkers are forced to set aside their corporate rankings and mutual distrust in order to survive.

The Darkest Evening by Ann Cleeves – Discovering a toddler in an abandoned vehicle near the run-down home where her estranged father grew up, Detective Inspector Vera Stanhope approaches the property during a boisterous Christmas party before discovering the body of a woman outside.

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman – Taken hostage by a failed bank robber while attending an open house, eight anxiety-prone strangers including a redemption-seeking bank director, two couples who would fix their marriages and a plucky octogenarian discover their unexpected common traits.

Robert B. Parker’s Fool’s Paradise by Mike Lupica – Surprised by the murder of a man he met the night before at an AA meeting, Paradise Police Chief Jesse Stone follows leads to one of the wealthiest families in town to identify the victim and his mysterious agenda.

A Question of Betrayal by Anne Perry – A sequel to Death in Focus finds daring young MI6 photographer Elena Standish embarking on a first mission in Mussolini’s Italy to rescue and uncover the truth about a former lover who betrayed her six years earlier.

Hanging Falls by Margaret Mizushima – Scouting for trail damage after a Timber Creek flood, officer Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner, Robo, stumble on the body of a murder victim with ties to a bizarre religious cult, before an unexpected visit leads to astonishing revelations.

The Stone Wall by Beverly Lewis – A Lancaster County tour guide researches her Alzheimer’s patient grandmother’s Plain heritage and the story behind a mysterious stone wall while confronting a difficult choice about her growing feelings for a handsome Mennonite and a young Amish widower.

The Invention of Sound by Chuck Palahniuk – A father on the brink of uncovering his missing daughter’s fate and a talented Foley sound artist find themselves on a collision course with Hollywood’s violent underworld. By the best-selling author of Fight Club.

The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyons – Wanting to organize an assisted death on her own terms, a world-weary octogenarian forges an unexpected bond with an exuberant 10-year-old who drags her to tea parties, shopping sprees and other social excursions.

Monogamy by Sue Miller – Derailed by the sudden passing of her husband of 30 years, an artist on the brink of a gallery opening struggles to pick up the pieces of her life before discovering harrowing evidence of her husband’s affair.

Dear Ann by Bobbie Ann Mason – A woman facing a life crisis reflects on her past as a naïve graduate student who set aside her educational ambitions at the height of the Summer of Love to pursue an obsessive relationship.

What Are You Going Through by Sigrid Nunez – A woman who is content to listen to the people she encounters talk about themselves is asked by one to do something extraordinary, in the new novel by the New York Times-best-selling, National Book Award-winning author of The Friend.

Call of the Raven by Wilbur A. Smith – An action-packed and gripping adventure by bestselling author, Wilbur Smith, about one man’s quest for revenge, the brutality of slavery in America and the imbalance between humans that can drive – or defeat – us.

~Semanur

Virtual Book Club – Readalikes for The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline

The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline

If you’re like a lot of us, when you heard that Christina Baker Kline, author of bestselling historical novel The Orphan Train, was coming out with a new novel, you hopped on that holds list for The Exiles immediately. But now it’s going to be a long, long wait for your book! Not to worry, your friendly librarians are here to help. Below we’ve got five similar books that should help tide you over until your copy comes in.  

If you don’t know what The Exiles is about, no problem! In this gorgeous novel, Christina Baker Kline brilliantly recreates the beginnings of a new society in a beautiful and challenging land, telling the story of Australia from a fresh perspective, through the experiences of Evangeline, Hazel, and Mathinna.

Click any of the readalike book covers below to be taken to our catalog, where you can request a copy of the book with your library card number and PIN. We’ve also included links to our e-media services Overdrive and Hoopla where available. You can find The Exiles on Overdrive here

The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg

The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg

A novel spanning decades, generations and America in the 1940s and today, centers around five women who worked in a Phillips 66 gas station during the WWII years. 

The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion Overdrive link




Love and Ruin by Paula McClain

Love and Ruin by Paula McClain

The author of The Paris Wife returns to her fan-favorite subject, Ernest Hemingway, in a tale set on the eve of World War II that is inspired by his passionate, stormy marriage to a fiercely independent, ambitious young Martha Gellhorn, who would become one of the 20th century’s leading war correspondents.

Love and Ruin Overdrive link


Bittersweet by Colleen McCullough

Bittersweet by Colleen McCullough

Colleen McCullough weaves a sweeping story of two sets of twins–all trained as nurses but each with her own ambitions–stepping into womanhood in 1920s and ’30s Australia. Because they are two sets of twins, the four Latimer sisters are as close as can be. Yet these vivacious young women each have their own dreams for themselves. They are famous throughout New South Wales for their beauty, wit, and ambition, but as they step into womanhood, they are not enthusiastic about the limited prospects life holds for them. Together they decide to enroll in a training program for nurses–a new option for women of their time who have previously been largely limited to the role of wives, and preferably mothers. 

Bittersweet Overdrive link

The Pull of the Stars by Emma Donoghue

The Pull of the Stars by Emma Donoghue

A novel set in 1918 Dublin offers a three-day look at a maternity ward during the height of the Great Flu pandemic. 

The Pull of the Stars Overdrive link




Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate 

A tale inspired by firsthand accounts about the notoriously corrupt Tennessee Children’s Home Society follows the efforts of a Baltimore assistant D.A. to uncover her parents’ fateful secrets in the wake of a political attack and a chance encounter with a stranger. 

Before We Were Yours Overdrive link

All plot summaries courtesy of Novelist. 

Join us next week for another installment of the Virtual Book Club! 

Reconnect @ RRPL

0062917188.01._sx180_sclzzzzzzz_

The Operator: A Novel

by Gretchen Berg

The early 1950’s in Wooster, Ohio is the setting for this debut novel. Vivian Dalton is a switchboard operator who has a penchant for eavesdropping on telephone conversations. The operators are not supposed to listen in on  conversations, but they all do. When a rumor about Vivian’s husband is discussed over the phone lines, it’s not fun anymore. Vivian needs to find out who is spreading the rumor and if there is any truth to it. Vivian does not confront her husband initially but attempts to discover the truth on her own. Has she been living a lie?

My grandmother and great aunt were both switchboard operators in McHenry County, North Dakota during the early 1920’s. I wonder if they passed their workdays eavesdropping too. I never thought to ask.

A fun quick cozy read that I highly recommend.

~Emma

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

This week we have varieties of exciting new books picked out for you to indulge into. Hope you enjoy them~

All the Devils Are Here by Louise Penny – Horrified when his billionaire godfather is targeted in a near-fatal accident, Chief Inspector Gamache follows clues deep within the Paris Archives to uncover gruesome, decades-old secrets. By the award-winning author of A Better Man.

Chaos by Iris Johansen – A CIA agent breaks into a billionaire’s mansion to secure financing for an unsanctioned mission in Africa to rescue schoolgirl hostages, including her sister, from a cold-blooded killer. By the best-selling author of the Eve Duncan series.

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi – A follow-up to the best-selling Homegoing finds a sixth-year PhD candidate grappling with the childhood faith of the evangelical church in which she was raised while researching the science behind the suffering that has devastated her Ghanaian immigrant family.

Daddy: Stories by Emma Cline – An anthology of 10 stories by the award-winning author of The Girls includes three original entries and follows a theme of how fateful choices and other disturbances reveal the perversity and violence beneath the surface of everyday life.

Dark Song by Christine Feehan – Stolen from her home as a child and tormented for centuries, a woman too traumatized to answer the call of her lifemate is pursued by an ancient warrior whose first experiences with emotions compel him to heal her fragile heart.

His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie – Enduring a life of minimal prospects among her uncles many wives, a young seamstress relocates to Accra when she is married in absentia to a wealthy man whose family would separate him from the woman he loves.

An Inconvenient Woman by Stéphanie Buelens – An LAPD contractor for hire who would discretely resolve a messy domestic dispute and a woman who would protect a family from her violent ex delve into the heart of a years-old crime to prevent another murder.

Interference by Brad Parks – When her husband, a quantum physicist, goes missing in the midst of a strange, violent seizure, Brigid Bronik discovers that his research had gained unwanted attention and wonders if the very same physics that endangered him could actually be used to save his life.

Thrawn: Chaos Rising by Timothy Zahn – The first book in a new Star Wars trilogy is set before Thrawn traveled to the Empire and became a Grand Admiral.

The Last Story of Mina Lee by Nancy Jooyoun Kim – Suspecting foul play in the wake of her mother’s accidental death, Margot Lee investigates her mother’s past as a Korean War orphan and undocumented immigrant before uncovering profound secrets. A first novel.

One True Patriot by Sean Parnell – Special operative Eric Steel travels from Paris to a top-secret Russian prison to track down a mysterious woman behind the death of a fellow Alpha. By the best-selling author of All Out War.

Payback by Mary Gordon – A vengeful reality television star reconnects with a former teacher who she blames for her sexual assault years earlier, in a timely novel by the award-winning author of There Your Heart Lies.

Fifty Words for Rain by Asha Lemmie – Abandoned by a mother who instructs her never to fight or ask questions, an illegitimate child of mixed heritage in 1948 Kyoto forges a powerful bond with her older half-brother against the wishes of their formidable grandparents.

Mill Town: Reckoning with What Remains by Kerri Arsenault – Traces the author’s working-class upbringing in a rural New England paper mill community among three generations who unwittingly contributed to environmental destruction and the catastrophic decline of the community’s economic, moral and emotional health.

~Semanur

Read Before You Watch

Do you like to read the book before you watch the film or television adaptation? Or are you someone who doesn’t mind seeing the screen version and then reading the book? Or, perhaps you are one of those people who only does one or the other. I must admit, there have been times that I chose not to read a book because the movie was not that interesting to me (looking at you Divergent series).

We’ve got some great television and film adaptations to look forward to, and below are a few of my top picks for books you should read before their adaptations hit your screen.

Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff

A brand new HBO series just launched based on this awesome book by Matt Ruff. I really enjoyed the book, a smart mash-up of historical fiction, Lovecraftian horror, and sci-fi fantasy elements. Readers follow a series of of inter-connected stories about an extended African American family in the 1950s, mostly taking place in Chicago, and their dangerous encounters with the supernatural (sorcerers, inter-dimensional portals, a haunted house) and the terrible, rampant racism they constantly faced during the Jim Crow era.

The Devil All the Time by Donald Ray Pollock

The film adaptation of this book is slated to hit Netflix September 16th so you have plenty of time to pick up this book (which is what I plan to do as I haven’t read it yet!). Set in rural southern Ohio and West Virginia, The Devil All the Time follows a cast of characters from the end of World War II to the 1960s, including a husband and wife team of serials killers and a disturbed war veteran. The book, Pollock’s first novel, was described as “violence-soaked” from it’s first pages by The New York Times Book Review, so be prepared for a dark and disturbing read.

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

This newly published horror thriller has already been put into development by Hulu according to recent news. The drama series will be based on Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s bestselling novel, and produced by Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos’ Milojo Productions and ABC Signature. Set in 1950s Mexico, Mexican Gothic follows glamorous and young socialite Noemí from her home in Mexico City to the dismal grounds of High Place, a gloomy English manor styled estate in the Mexican countryside. She is there to check in on her newlywed cousin after receiving a frantic letter begging for someone to save her. What will she discover about this odd family and strange house?

Are there any big or small screen adaptations that you are really excited about this year? Share in the comments!