5Days4Democracy -There’s Still Time!

Tomorrow is the first official day of the Five Days for Democracy event and you can sign up now, or any time this week, to receive Monday’s email! This might be the easiest program *ever* to join but will hopefully get you thinking and taking action, which can be hard work. It’s good for us flex those decision making muscles, it’s even better to feel like you made a positive difference for yourself and others. During these five days of emails, full of things to read or watch, small actions we can take every day or once in a while, and encourage discussion, all adding a little zing to your inbox! And who doesn’t need a little zing?!

Five days. Five challenges. Five ways to strengthen your role in our democracy.

—Stacey

Virtual Book Club – Readalikes for All the Devils are Here by Louise Penny

All the Devils are Here by Louise Penny catalog link

Fans of Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache know that he is one in a million – kind, thoughtful, and the best detective in the Sûreté du Québec. Over time, Gamache and Penny have attracted more and more fans to the series, and now her 16th novel featuring Gamache, All the Devils are Here, is a #1 New York Times Bestseller. In this new novel, Inspector Gamache travels to Paris, where he must find the person who attacked his wealthy and elderly godfather.

However, along with the surging popularity of the series comes a very long holds list at the library, so your friendly librarians are here again with similar detective series that might remind you of Chief Inspector Gamache. 

Click any of the readalike book covers below to be taken to our catalog, where you can request a copy of the book with your library card number and PIN. We’ve also included links to our e-media services Overdrive and Hoopla where available. You can find All the Devils are Here on Overdrive here

Cover Her Face by P. D. James catalog link

Cover Her Face by P. D. James – first novel in the Adam Dalgliesh mystery series

When a sly and sensuous young woman who had used her body and her brains to climb the social ladder is murdered by someone who had clearly decided that the wages of sin should be death, it falls to Inspector Adam Dalgliesh to find out who the killer is. 

Cover Her Face Overdrive link

Death at La Fenice by Donna Leon catalog link

Death at La Fenice by Donna Leon – first novel in the Guido Brunetti mystery series

When renowned opera conductor Helmut Wellauer is found dead in his dressing room, the victim of cyanide poisoning, Guido Brunetti, the Vice Commissario of the Venice Police, must sift through several suspects. 

Death at La Fenice Overdrive link

Death at La Fenice Hoopla link

Murder at the Mendel by Gail Bowen catalog link

Murder at the Mendel by Gail Bowen – second novel in the Joanne Kilbourn mystery series (also known as Love and Murder)

Sally Love’s exhibition at the Mendel Gallery includes a mural depicting the private parts of her past lovers, and when protestors appear in droves, two dead bodies are found, and Sally’s childhood friend, Joanne Kilbourn, must investigate the crimes. 

Murder at the Mendel Overdrive link

A Test of Wills by Charles Todd catalog link

A Test of Wills by Charles Todd – first novel in the Ian Rutledge mystery series

Ian Rutledge returns to his career at Scotland Yard after fighting in the war, still suffering from shell shock. His next case, with a war-ravaged ex-soldier as the witness, could spell disaster for him. 

A Test of Wills Overdrive link

A Test of Wills Hoopla link

A Great Deliverance by Elizabeth George catalog link

A Great Deliverance by Elizabeth George –  first novel in the Thomas Lynley mystery series

Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is getting a final chance for a promotion. Because of her abrasive personality, she’s been unable to work with any of the detectives at Scotland Yard. Assigned to work with Inspector Thomas Lynley, whom she despises because of his privileged upbringing, the two head to Yorkshire to investigate the murder of a man by his daughter. She was found sitting by her decapitated father and would only say “I did it. And I’m not sorry”, and she has refused to say another word. The townspeople believe she is innocent, and Lynley and Havers learn to work together as they solve the case.

A Great Deliverance Overdrive link

All plot summaries courtesy of Novelist.

Join us next week for another installment of the Virtual Book Club!

Reconnect @RRPL

by Tracey Enerson Wood

I love this story of a strong independent real-life woman, namely Emily Warren Roebling. Emily was the person responsible for completing the Brooklyn Bridge. Emily’s father-in-law, John A. Roebling, was the original engineer but died of tetanus before the project began. Emily’s husband, Washington A. Roebling took over the project. Unfortunately, he became deathly ill with decompression sickness (caisson disease) and was confined to bed for several months never quite recovering. In the novel showman P.T. Barnum befriends Emily helping her overcome her fear of public speaking since Emily was required to make fundraising speeches. (The story spans 1864-1884 and women just did not do that, at least not very often.)

If you are interested in wonderful nonfiction book on the building of the Brooklyn Bridge, I suggest reading The Great Bridge: The Epic Story of the Building of the Brooklyn Bridge by David McCullough.

~Emma

Goodnight Beautiful by Aimee Malloy

Dr. Sam Statler, a newlywed psychologist, is missing. He and his wife, Annie, recently moved from NYC to his small upstate New York hometown. The move serves two purposes-a fresh start for the couple and to be close to Sam’s ailing mother. Sam’s private practice is located in a charming old building with the perfect landlord. He spends his days listening to the problems of his mostly female clientele and his free time celebrating the small milestones in his marriage. This quiet life suits Sam, which is why Annie can’t believe he would have willingly disappeared. However, the search for her husband reveals that Sam may not be everything she believed him to be.

To be honest, it’s best to go into this book knowing as little as possible about it. Know that it is a strange and twisty story; a first rate psychological thriller. Sam has a reputation in his hometown. His sessions are being listened in on. And who is that French woman? Is Sam really missing or did he disappear? Readers will have questions and the author is stingy with the answers until the stunning truth is revealed. I listened to the audiobook version and at first I struggled with the narrator, but by the end I could not believe how perfect the narration was.

Goodnight Beautiful by Aimee Malloy comes out October 13th. Add it to your TBR list and place a hold today

~Megan

New Books Tuesday @ RRPL

There are tons of new releases that come to our shelves every week. With all the books being unique in their own ways, it is hard to choose between the ones that are suitable for your taste. Here are some books we picked out for you!

The Book of Two Ways by Jodi Picoult – Experiencing memories of a man other than her husband while surviving a plane crash, and end-of-life doula on the brink of a fateful decision envisions two disparate paths that find her staying with her family or reconnecting with the past.

Next to Last Stand by Craig Johnson – Walt Longmire visits the 7th Cavalry Headquarters of 1946 Fort Bliss, Texas to investigate links between a fatal heart attack, a fire that has destroyed a high-profile work of American art and a shoebox containing a million dollars.

The Coast-to-Coast Murders by James Patterson & J. D. Barker – A baffling string of murders throughout the country leads Detective Garrett Dobbs and FBI Agent Jessica Gimble to the family of two Ivy League intellectuals who raised their adopted children in a traumatizing experimental environment.

To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan – The disappearance of her fawningly dependent husband catapults a best-selling mystery writer into dark memories about a brother who went missing under suspicious circumstances 30 years earlier. By the best-selling author of What She Knew.

Funeral for a Friend by Brian Freeman – Jonathan Stride investigates after his best friend confesses on his death bed to covering up a murder that leads to the discovery of a body buried in his yard, in the latest addition to the series following Alter Ego.

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman – Meeting weekly in their retirement village’s Jigsaw Room to exchange theories about unsolved crimes, four savvy septuagenarians propose a daring but unorthodox plan to help a woman rookie cop solve her first big murder case.

Eli’s Promise by Ronald H. Balson – The National Jewish Book Award-winning author of The Girl From Berlin explores the human cost of war and the consequences of survival in the story of a Polish business owner who seeks justice for a wartime betrayal. 

The Last Agent by Robert Dugoni – A spy who was convicted of treason travels to Russia after receiving a tip that the agent who sacrificed her life to save his might still be alive, in the second novel of the series following The Eight Sister.

And Now She’s Gone by Rachel Howzell Hall – When a desperate family implores her to track down a woman who may not want to be found, Grayson Sykes unravels violent secrets that embroil her in an increasingly dangerous game of cat and mouse.

Total Meditation: Practices in Living the Awakened Life by Deepak Chopra – The humanitarian founder of The Chopra Foundation nonprofit and best-selling author of Metahuman reinterprets and clarifies the physical, mental and spiritual benefits of an effective meditation practice while explaining how to use meditation to treat stress and heal suffering.

Standoff: Race, Policing, and a Deadly Assault that Gripped a Nation
by Jamie Thompson – An award-winning journalist documents the July 2016 shooting outside El Centro College in Dallas, offering character portraits of its first responders, negotiator, doctors and victims while examining how the tragedy reflects ongoing challenges in racial injustice and law enforcement.

Daughters of the Wild by Natalka Burian – Unable to remember her life before foster care, a teen who would rescue her newborn from an oppressive matriarch studies the properties of a powerful but addictive plant behind the foster family’s business. A first novel. 

Divided We Fall: America’s Secession Threat and How to Restore Our Nation by David French – The National Review senior writer and co-author of the best-selling Rise of ISIS examines the growing ideological divide in America, drawing on up-to-date research about the nation’s possible separation and what is needed to prevent it.

Overstated: A Coast-to-Coast Roast of the 50 States by Colin Quinn – The comedian star of the one-man Broadway show Red State, Blue State lampoons the idiosyncrasies of the 50 United States, sharing sharp-witted observations about their contradictory interpretations of the Constitution and a representative government. 

~Semanur

Reconnect @ RRPL – #GrumpLit

There are so many fans of A Man Called Ove, and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and books along those lines, that there is indeed a hashtag for books starring lovable curmudgeons. I am not sure why this is a trend but let’s face it, Charles Dickens gave us Ebenezer Scrooge and we’ve wanted more ever since. So stop your scowling, because I may have found your next new favorite book!

In The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyons, Eudora is an 85-year-old with no friends or family in her life. Although in decent physical shape (she swims laps at the local pool almost daily), Eudora considers herself done living. Having cared for her mother at her own end, Eudora never wants to be in a position where she is forced to rely on someone else when she can no longer care for herself. She’s decided she will end things on her own terms and has written to a clinic in Switzerland that promises to allow her to do just that. Eudora is eagerly awaiting to be accepted into this program when she meets and is befriended by her new neighbors’ daughter, Rose, an adorable, wise-beyond-her-years 10-year-old with a built-in wild fashion sense and an inability to take “no” for an answer.

Rose inserts herself into Eudora’s world, bringing along another older neighbor and widower named Stanley. Their kindness and exuberance for life forces Eudora outside of her comfort zone, and she finds herself not only trying new things, but also reflecting on her past and the possibilities of what might lie ahead.

Although you’ll need a handkerchief nearby (not a Kleenex—Eudora is a classy lady), this novel is ultimately a feel-good story that will lift your spirits and make you laugh out loud.

-Carol

5Days4Democracy -Join Us!

One of the things I most appreciate about being a citizen of the United States of America? I can make a difference each time I vote! And in-between elections, I can contact elected representatives, from local to Federal, when an issue is important to me!

From Monday, September 28 to Friday, October 2, Rocky River Public Library, our fellow public library systems in Cuyahoga County, and City Club of Cleveland are asking you to participate in Five Days for Democracy—a week dedicated to spending just a little bit of time each day thinking about what democracy means to you, why it’s important, and why it’s worth fighting for.

When you sign up, you’ll receive an email each day packed with opportunities to explore different facets of our democracy, in all its aspirations and failings. From listening to a podcast to watching a video, reading an article or responding to a call to action, each day you’ll pick one challenge to complete. And maybe you’d like to start reading a little something right now, like a little prep work for the week? Check out on of the many titles suggested in the 5 Days for Democracy collection!

Five days. Five challenges. Five ways to strengthen your role in our democracy.

Sign up at Five Days for Democracy and get ready to embrace your voting power!

—Stacey