October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

A sample of titles available from the library –

The Breast Cancer Book : A Trusted Guide for You and Your Loved Ones

by Kenneth D. Miller

The breast cancer cookbook : over 100 easy recipes to nourish and boost health during and after treatment

by M.R.S. Keshtgar

Breast cancer smoothies : 100 delicious, research-based recipes for prevention and recovery

by Daniella Chace

The breast test book : a woman’s guide to mammography and beyond

by Connie Jones

The cancer journals

by Audre Lorde

Pretty sick : the beauty guide for women with cancer

by Caitlin M. Kiernan

Radical : The Science, Culture, and History of Breast Cancer in America

by Kate Pickert

The silver lining : a supportive and insightful guide to breast cancer

by Hollye Jackobs

~Emma

Currently Reading- August

This month I’ll be enjoying some vacation, including some stay-cationing at home, as well as doing some out-of-state traveling for the first time in a long time. I have a relatively short flight ahead, but we have some long layovers, so I was sure to load up my Kindle with ebooks and my phone with audiobooks from OverDrive to keep me occupied. Nothing is worse than being book-less at the airport! Take a look below to see what I’m currently reading this month.

August eBook Display- Cooking for Busy Schedules

With another school year just around the corner, and many of us returning to spending more time in the office, you might be in need of some help in the kitchen! Fear not- all the titles below are cookbooks perfect for crafting delicious meals that work for those short on time.

Click here to jump to our OverDrive digital library!

Staff Picks- August

One of the best things about working in a public library is being exposed to so many different books! I know I can be guilty of sticking to my reading comfort zone, but thanks to the eclectic readership we have on staff, I’m always hearing personal recommendations and reviews from my amazing colleagues, including a wide variety of genres.

This month Adult Services staff shared some current favorites, including a discussion worthy nonfiction title, an updated classic with a fantasy twist, and a stand-out autobiography. Take a look below for our five staff picks!

Hop on over to our digital library to snag one of these titles now! Ilhan Omar narrates the audiobook version of This is What America Looks Like, which was highly recommended by our staff, so if you are an audiobook fan don’t miss out on this great title.

Bicycling with Butterflies Read-alikes: One Book, One City

Have you been loving Bicycling with Butterflies by Sara Dykman? Perhaps you finished it already and are looking for something similar to read? As someone who admittedly doesn’t read much non-fiction, this book inspired me to consider adding more nature focused non-fiction titles to my ever growing to-read pile.

Below you’ll find some suggested read-alike titles, including some stellar nature and travel writing.

You can request a title through our online catalog here or check out our digital collection offerings through OverDrive!

More Native Plant News

Last week I suggested a few sources for native plants. This week, I’m going to share some resources so you can learn more about native plants, which are the best for this area, and how to plant them – do they need sun? shade? clay soil or wet soil? What about planting across the seasons – having something that blooms in the Spring for early pollinators, and into late Fall for the butterflies still making their way? Here are books and websites that will help you cultivate a pollinator pathway!

Books:

Bringing Nature Home: How You Can Sustain Wildlife with Native Plants

The Living Landscape: Designing for Beauty and Biodiversity in the Home Garden

Nature’s Best Hope: a New Approach to Conservation that Starts in Your Yard

Native Plants of the Midwest

The Midwest Plant Primer

Websites:

The Ohio Native Plant Month

The Native Plant Society of Northeast Ohio

Native Plants for the Small Yard

OSU Extension Fact Sheet

If you need more information, please do not hesitate to contact us and we’ll be glad to point you in the right direction! Go forth and plant natives!

~Dori

One Book, One City

Bicycling with Butterflies by Sara Dykman

Buddy Read – Week Two

Here we are at the start of the second full week of our One Book, One City program and hopefully we’re all taking another look at all the interesting creatures right outside our doors. If you haven’t started the book, don’t worry! We’ll be enjoying this book and all the accompanying programs all the way through Monday, August 2, when Sara Dykman will be answering your questions (virtually) at 6:00pm -register here to reserve your space!

If you want to read a book inspired by Bicycling with Butterflies, check out the digital collection or call the library 440.333.7610 x5501 for suggestions!

And don’t forget to check out what’s happening on the Children’s Department blog, RRPL Kid’s Depot, where you’ll find even more fun things to try out this Summer!!

Rocky River, are you ready to read together? Us too! Let’s get into it and turn that page

Week Two

Chapters 8-15

1. If you were planning the bike route, where do you think you could find the right data for deciding which roads to take and locations good for stopping?

2. Have you heard of native seeds or native planting before? What do you think about this movement, and would you be willing to try it out in your own backyard? Do you know what plants are native to this area?

3. If you’re interested in learning more about monarch butterflies being suggested for inclusion on the Endangered Species Act, check out this great page created by Phytophagy Lab at Cornell University.

4. Who else went searching for the different ways you can participate with Monarch Watch?

Programs happening soon:

Monarch Wonders Storytime 

Family event 

Tuesday, July 15 

To go along with this summer’s One City, One Book, join us virtually for songs, stories and a craft about the beautiful monarch butterfly. An activity kit will be available to pick up prior to the program. A link of the program will be sent the day of the event.