5 New Books to Read in 2022

New year, new books! There are so many great books being published this year and below you’ll find five books that I’m particularly excited for! I can’t wait to read these titles and I hope you’ll get inspired by my picks as well.

In addition to stocking up on new releases in the coming months, this year I’m planning on revisiting some favorite classics as well. I’ll be spending some time with H.P. Lovecraft and Emily Bronte again, while making time to dive into some non-fiction titles and biographies (which is a bit out of my typical reading comfort zone).

Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel

The award-winning, best-selling author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel returns with a novel of art, time, love, and plague that takes the reader from Vancouver Island in 1912 to a dark colony on the moon three hundred years later, unfurling a story of humanity across centuries and space. Expected publication: April 2022

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic and Velvet Was the Night comes a dreamy reimagining of The Island of Doctor Moreau set against the backdrop of nineteenth-century Mexico. Expected publication: July 2022

Book of Night by Holly Black

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus. Expected publication: May 2022

Such a Pretty Smile by Kristi DeMeester

A biting novel from an electrifying new voice, Such a Pretty Smile is a heart-stopping tour-de-force about powerful women, angry men, and all the ways in which girls fight against the forces that try to silence them. Expected publication: January 2022

Night of the Living Rez by Morgan Talty

Set in a Native community in Maine, Night of the Living Rez is a riveting debut collection about what it means to be Penobscot in the twenty-first century and what it means to live, to survive, and to persevere after tragedy. Expected publication: July 2022

What books are you looking forward to checking out this year?

Back to School Fiction

It’s that time of year, when the kiddos are off to school, though this year may look very different than any year past. Some schools are offering hybrid class models, while others are strictly remote for the first 9 weeks, and others might be back in the classroom most of the school week. Whether you are sending a child off to college, a little one is starting kindergarten online, or your high school student is going to their school twice a week, now is a great time to pick up a book about school life!

Below you will find some great titles filled with humor, drama, mystery, thrills, tragedy, and romance- all with teachers, students, parents, and school settings of all sorts. There is really something for everyone in this selection. Check one out today!

Wishing everyone a safe and happy start to their 2020-2021 school year! Happy reading!

Your Library Staff at Home – A Book and Two Cats

This week I’ve not only made my way through a whole novel, I loved it! Oh, and I am currently reading and enjoying a second. I don’t want to jinx it, but maybe my “cold” stretch of picking duds of books to read (and/or not having enough staying-with-it-ness to, well, you know) is over…but I sure hope so!

The book I loved was Tuesday Mooney Talks To Ghosts by Kate Racculia. Tuesday is 33-year-old researcher who lives in Boston. To the outside world, Tuesday is an antisocial weirdo who got stuck in her goth chick days, but in her head she has ongoing conversations with the ghost of her best friend Abby, who disappeared when they were 16-year-olds in Salem. Tuesday breaks out from her solitude when a dead eccentric billionaire’s will is made public, inviting the citizens of Boston to participate in a macabre search around the city to compete for his hidden treasure.  She can’t resist going in and neither will you. This book has it all: mystery,  madcap adventure, Oujia board-wielding teenagers, mistaken identities, witty banter, intelligent writing–not to mention some heart-rending examinations of grief, guilt, friendships and romance.

tuesday

Are you convinced?  Place a hold in our catalog here

The book I’m reading now, All Adults Here by Emma Straub is brand new. I’ll keep you posted, but so far I can’t put down this novel about the flawed family of Astrid Strick and her adult children.

All this book reading has me sitting a bit more recently, much to the delight of our two cats, who I’ve decided are indeed the best of coworkers (no disrespect to my husband who is pretty good at sharing a workspace too). The cats, though, are excellent lap warmers and are the perfect partners in crime for when I’m looking for an excuse to stay seated and read just one more chapter. Thanks furballs!

Have a good week and if you’ve got one, give your own  furry coworker a head scratch for me.

Your Library Staff at Home – Book Harbor

This week I want to share with you a new personalized book recommendation service that we’ve created at Rocky River Public Library – Book Harbor – a place where you can share 3 items you love – books, movies, TV shows, music, really anything you can think of, and we’ll send back some recommendations chosen by our Library staff, who know a thing or two about books!

bookHarbor_WEB

Here are two requests we received (the following links lead to Overdrive, our digital book collection):

Aimee loves the books In the Heart of the Sea by Nathaniel PhilbrickEndurance by Alfred Lansing and In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. Our Teen Librarian and resident true crime and nonfiction aficionado Megan responded:  It looks like you enjoy adventure filled nonfiction!

Sticking with water adventures, I would recommend: River of Doubt by Candice MillardShadow Divers by Robert Kurson. and Adrift by Stephen Callahan.

Because you liked Endurance I would recommend: Endurance: A Year in Space by Scott Kelly and The Adventurer’s Son by Roman Dial.

Finally, if you liked In Cold Blood I would recommend: Furious Hours by Casey Cep, I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara, and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. I hope you discover something new from this list!

Julie gave us a list of the following books and authors that she has enjoyed: The Jan Karon Mitford series, Death on Demand Mysteries, and Jamie Beck books.

Emma, who enjoys mysteries, historical fiction and gentle reads, recommended authors Ann B. Ross and Philip Gulley as similar to Jan Karon, Joanne Fluke and Diane Davidson Mott, mystery writers with similar styles as the Death on Demand books, and Kristen Hannah and Mary McNear, both authors similar to Jamie Beck.

I’ll share more requests and our recommendations next week. Please send your requests to askalibrarian@rrpl.org and keep them coming because we love to recommend books!

Stay safe and stay home!

~ Dori