Winter Reading Bingo – Mystery/Thriller

See the source image

Consider one of the following series when participating in Rocky River Public Library’s “Winter Reading Bingo” during January & February.

Rhys Bowen – Molly Murphy & Royal Spyness series

Alan Bradley – Flavia de Luce series

Fiona Davis – The Masterpiece (published in 2018)

Spencer Quinn – Chet and Bernie series

Amy Stewart – Kopp Sisters series

Jacqueline Winspear – Maisie Dobbs




My Favourite Historical Fiction of 2018


Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict

Dear Mrs. Bird by Pearce, Amanda-Jane

The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place by Alan Bradley

I was Anastasia by Ariel Lawhorn

Love and Ruin by Paula McLain

The Masterpiece by Fiona Davis

Miss Kopp Just Won’t Quit by Amy Stewart

The Tattooist of Auschwitz  by Heather Morris

To Die but Once by Jacqueline Winspear

The Tuscan Child by Rhys Bowen

happy holidays









Emma’s Top Ten in 2017

top ten books


Before We Were Yours: A Novel by Lisa Wingate



In Farleigh Field: A Novel by Rhys Bowen

Cover image for

The It Girls by Karen Harper

it girls

The Last Tudor by Philippa Gregory

last tudor

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk: A Novel by Kathleen Rooney


Loving Luther: A Novel by Allison Pittman


Miss Kopp’s Midnight Confessions by Amy Stewart

miss kopp's

Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenoff


A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline


Stars Over Clear Lake: A Novel by Loretta Ellsworth



Enjoy! Emma

The Hours Count: A Novel


Ethel and Julius Rosenberg were executed in June 1953 as “atom spies”. They were the only Americans executed for espionage during the Cold War. In the novel fictional characters Ed and Millie Stein were neighbors of the Rosenberg’s. Ethel, Julius, and Ed were members of the Communist party. This compelling novel combines facts about the Rosenberg’s with fictional neighbors and friends.


Happy Father’s Day!

The idea of Father’s Day was publicly supported by President Calvin Coolidge in 1924, but was not presidentially proclaimed until 1966. It was assured of annual recognition by

PL 92-278 in April 1972.




(It’s interesting to note that in 1914 President Woodrow Wilson signed a measure officially establishing the second Sunday in May as Mother’s Day. Father’s Day became a celebration 58 years later.)



Orwell’s 1984 published

Orwell’s 1984 was published on June 8, 1949 in England by Secker & Warburg. The novel was set in the superstate of Oceania and Big Brother was introduced.


First American Edition Cover

published by Harcourt Brace in 1949


From the original review in the New York Times:

Nineteen Eighty-Four is a work of pure horror, and its horror is

crushingly immediate.”