Virtual Book Club – Readalikes for The Guest List by Lucy Foley

The Guest List by Lucy Foley catalog link

It’s that time: another installment of the ‘Virtual Book Club: Really Long Holds List’ edition! This week we’re looking at books to read while you wait for The Guest List by Lucy Foley, which looks to be shaping up to be the new hot thriller for fall, as it is both a New York Times Bestseller and a pick for Reese Witherspoon’s book club.

A locked room mystery set on a remote island off the coast of Ireland, The Guest List is generating lots of buzz. An expertly planned celebrity wedding between a rising television star and an ambitious magazine publisher is thrown into turmoil by petty jealousies, a college drinking game, the bride’s ruined dress and an untimely murder. Sounds good, right? But of course, the holds list is long, so we’ve brought you readalikes to keep you busy while you wait.

Click any of the book covers below to be taken to our catalog, where you can request a copy of the book with your library card number and PIN. We’ve also included links to our e-media services Overdrive and Hoopla where available. You can find The Guest List on Overdrive here.

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware catalog link

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Reluctantly accepting an old friend’s invitation to spend a weekend on the English countryside, reclusive writer Leonora awakens in a hospital badly injured, unable to recall what happened and confronting a growing certainty that someone involved has died.

In a Dark, Dark Wood Overdrive link


And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie catalog link

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Ten houseguests, trapped on an isolated island, are the prey of a diabolical killer. A famous nursery rhyme is framed and hung in every room of the mansion: Ten little Indian boys went out to dine; One choked his little self and then there were nine–When they realize that murders are occurring as described in the rhyme, terror mounts. Who has choreographed this dastardly scheme? And who will be left to tell the tale?

And Then There Were None Overdrive link

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz catalog link

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

“From New York Times bestselling author Anthony Horowitz comes Magpie Murders, a brilliant and strikingly original reimagining of the classic whodunit (a la Agatha Christie) with a contemporary mystery wrapped around it”–.

Magpie Murders Overdrive link


The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda catalog link

The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

When her longtime best friend is found murdered, a woman combs through her idyllic Maine tourist community to uncover local secrets and clear her name of suspicion.

The Last House Guest Overdrive link


Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris catalog link

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

The friends of a seemingly perfect socialite couple begin to see cracks in the facade when they realize that the husband and wife are never apart and that there are bars on one of their upstairs windows.

Behind Closed Doors Overdrive link


All plot summaries courtesy of Novelist.

Join us every Sunday for new editions of the virtual book club!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s